· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies  · 4 min read

August 21–25 VC News: Starcloud $2.3B, Stripe Confirms OpenRouter

Aug 21–25, 2026: Starcloud $250M at $2.3B, Stripe confirmed OpenRouter (price still press), Fasset $68M at $1B, YC names Mundo/Apollo/Instant, Blackbird VC $1.05B (Australia — not our restaurant Blackbird). Hugging Face, Perplexity, and General Intuition remain talks.

August 21–25 VC News: Starcloud $2.3B, Stripe Confirms OpenRouter

VCT data record

Funding event facts

Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.

Starcloud adds $250M at a $2.3B valuation

Starcloud extended its Series A to build orbital data-center capacity for inference.

Event type
Funding Round
Event date
Aug 21, 2026
Stage / label
Series A extension
Amount
$250M
Valuation
$2.3B
Confidence
Reported

Company / target: Starcloud

Sources: techcrunch.com

Stripe confirms OpenRouter acquisition

Stripe and OpenRouter confirmed the acquisition; the reported $7.5B price was not disclosed in company posts and the deal was not yet closed.

Event type
Acquisition
Event date
Aug 19, 2026
Amount
$7.5B reported price
Confidence
Reported

Company / target: OpenRouter

Sources: openrouter.ai techcrunch.com

InstantDB team joins OpenAI in an acquihire

InstantDB announced that its team was joining OpenAI; this was an acquihire rather than a priced product acquisition.

Event type
Acquisition
Event date
Not disclosed
Confidence
Company Disclosed

Company / target: InstantDB

Participants: Y Combinator

Sources: instantdb.com

Blackbird closes a record A$1.05B Fund VI

Sydney-based Blackbird closed its sixth fund for early-stage investing in Australia and New Zealand.

Event type
Fund Close
Event date
Aug 25, 2026
Stage / label
Fund VI
Amount
A$1.05B
Confidence
Reported

Participants: Adams Street Partners , Morgan Stanley Investment Management , Schroders

Sources: capitalbrief.com

August 21–25, 2026 is the confirmation-and-orbit tape. Starcloud printed $2.3B. Stripe confirmed OpenRouter — the $7.5B price is still press. For the month map, use August 2026 VC news. Last verified August 25, 2026.

Snapshot table

Company / firmAmountStageKey capitalJob
Starcloud$250M @ $2.3BSeries A extensionManhattan West; Benchmark, YCOrbital inference
OpenRouterStripe$7.5B (NYT)M&A (announced, not closed)Prior: a16z, Menlo, SequoiaModel gateway
Fasset$68M @ $1BSeries CSBI Group; Speedinvest returningStablecoin neobank
Mundo$20M (no valuation)Series AGreatPoint; YCMultimodal training data
Apollo Atomics$31MSeedFCVC; YC, Paul Graham namedCompact PWRs
Instant (InstantDB)UndisclosedAcquihireJoining OpenAI; YC S22Agent backend
Blackbird (Sydney VC)A$1.05BFund VI closeAdams Street, MSIM, SchrodersANZ early-stage

Amounts from company posts or named press. Rows marked NYT are not company-disclosed.

Theme 1 — The OpenRouter rumor became a company post

OpenRouter is joining Stripe (Aug 19). TechCrunch: Stripe confirmed. Price is not in either company post. NYT via TechCrunch: $7.5 billion; founders $1.5B, investors $6B. Databricks was an outbid name (TC). Customary closing conditions; OpenRouter expects close in coming weeks; product stays up.

Our mid-month memo treated this as Bloomberg-only. That state is stale. Full rewrite: Did Stripe buy OpenRouter?.

Theme 2 — Inference left the building

Starcloud told TechCrunch it added $250 million at $2.3 billion on August 21. Google still ranks the $1.1 billion March A. Live mark is the extension. Entity was stuck on March — now updated.

Same-week Earth inference: Groq $3.5B (Aug 17), Etched $21B (Aug 18). Starcloud is the launch-slot print.

Smaller verified items

Fasset$68 million Series C at $1 billion, SBI Group lead, Aug 24 (company). Follows May’s $51 million B. Company: >$40B annualized transaction volume, 3 million+ wallets, 1,000+ enterprises, 125 countries. Neo is on our directory cap table; SBI has no /fund/ page. Prior memo: Fasset $51M Series B. US “fasset funding” volume is tiny — no second standalone.

Mundo — Vancouver, YC W25. $20 million Series A, GreatPoint lead, Aug 24; YC, Next Frontier, E12 in. Prior unannounced $4 million seed; $24 million total; no valuation. Perceptual / multimodal data. Roundup only.

Apollo Atomics — Cambridge, MA compact PWRs. $31 million seed, FCVC lead, Aug 20 (Finsmes); YC, Telesoft, Alumni Ventures, Robinhood Ventures, Paul Graham named. Missed by the Aug 20 morning pass. Roundup only.

Instant (InstantDB) — YC S22. Entire team joining OpenAI (company essay). No price. New signups closed; Instant Cloud runs through August 31, 2027; backups to August 31, 2028. Company: 17,000 users, 400,000 apps, ~2.5 billion transactions. Acquihire, not a product buy.

Adalat AI — Indian legal-tech nonprofit selected for YC Fall 2026 (Bar and Bench, Aug 22). First nonprofit YC backed in nearly five years (company). Not a priced round.

Berry Street × Healthify — merger, Aug 24 (TechCrunch). No financial terms. Co-CEOs Noah Kotlove and Tushar Vashisht. Khosla is on Healthify. Berry Street last raised $50 million (Northzone, Sofina, FJ Labs — TC). No entity pages here.

Blackbird Fund VI — Sydney VC closed $1.05 billion, Aug 25 (Capital Brief). Largest ANZ VC raise on record, narrowly above its 2022 $1.032 billion. New LPs: Adams Street, Morgan Stanley Investment Management, Schroders. Not /startup/blackbird (U.S. restaurant loyalty). No Blackbird /fund/ page here.

Rillet follow-up — TechCrunch (Aug 21) interview: the $100 million / $1 billion C came together in 48 hours after a board meeting; CEO said they were not looking to raise. Facts already in our Rillet memo (600 customers; doubled new ARR). No new mark.

Talks — do not paste as closed

  • Hugging Face ~$13B sale talks — TechCrunch (Aug 24) citing Business Insider. No buyer named. Last raise 2023 at $4.5B. Company previously turned down a $500 million Nvidia check at $7B. Unconfirmed.
  • Perplexity >$30B / Nvidia — The Information (Aug 24 week). Perplexity declined to comment. Last reported mark ~$20B (Sept 2025, The Information). Revenue >$750 million annualized is press, not a 10-K.
  • General Intuition ~$6B pre-money talks — TechCrunch (Aug 24), sources. Valor, Point72, 776 named as new; Khosla and General Catalyst returning. Weeks after $320 million at $2.3 billion. Still finalizing; oversubscribed per a source. Not a close. No GI /startup/ page here.
  • Temporal $12B and EliseAI $3.7B remain talks.
  • Poolside / Nvidia — secondary blogs describe a license + investment + engineer move. We do not have a company primary this run. Leave it off the closed tape.

Do not add as this week’s news

  • Higgsfield $400M / $5.4B reprints dated Aug 24 are the August 17 close we already memo’d.
  • Stale last-rounds on aggregator sheets (Checkout.com 2022, Stability 2022, Better.com 2021, Centralize July 29).
  • ALSO Holding AG confusion — still the Swiss distributor, not this week’s tape.

Where to go next

Diligence memos: Starcloud $2.3B, Stripe–OpenRouter. Prior 48 hours: Aug 19–20 tape. YC applications: Fall 2026 guide. Directory: /directory.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. TechCrunch — Starcloud $250M (Aug 21, 2026)
  2. OpenRouter — joining Stripe (Aug 19, 2026)
  3. TechCrunch — Stripe confirmed OpenRouter (Aug 19, 2026)
  4. Fasset — $68M Series C at $1B (Aug 24, 2026)
  5. Instant — team joins OpenAI
  6. Capital Brief — Blackbird $1.05B fund (Aug 25, 2026)

Research the entities in this story

Persistent profiles connect this article to the companies and investors it discusses.

Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

August 2026 VC News: What Closed Through the 31st?

Through August 31: Adaptyv $40M Series A (Highland Europe; no valuation), Clerky agreed to join Stripe (no price), Standard Metrics $20M Series B (8VC; no valuation), plus HubX up to $75M at $1.2B pre, Owner $2.3B, a16z $1.1B Machine Age, OpenAI–Cursor wind-down, AusperBio $120M Series C, and YC’s apply page on Winter 2027. Town and General Intuition remain talks.

Did Stripe Buy OpenRouter? Yes. $7.5B Is Press

Stripe and OpenRouter confirmed the acquisition on August 19, 2026. The deal is not closed. Neither company posted a price. The New York Times, via TechCrunch, reports $7.5 billion. Last verified round remains May’s $113M Series B at $1.3B.

August 19–20 VC News: Castelion $13B, ALSO $150M, YC GPU

Aug 19–20, 2026: Castelion $1B Series C at $13B ($800M equity + $250M revolver), Rivian spinout ALSO $150M Series D, Thunder Compute $13M (YC), plus Navi, Rundoo, Network Bio, Relativity Networks, and Peeko. Centralize’s $19M is July 29, not new August tape.