Startup profile for ALSO: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

ALSO funding, valuation and investors

Rivian-born small electric vehicles (TM-B bike, TM-Q quad) expanding into autonomous delivery.

Keep track of ALSO

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

Prior growth (Greenoaks-led)

$200M · 2026

Latest known valuation

Not publicly disclosed

Total disclosed equity funding

$350M

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

private

growth · Palo Alto, California, USA

Investors in latest funding

Lead: Greenoaks

Other: Prysm Capital , DoorDash

Sources: latest funding Last verified: 2026-08-20

Overview

ALSO is a Palo Alto micromobility company spun out of Rivian in 2025. It sells the TM-B pedal-assist bike and TM-Q quads and is using a August 19, 2026 $150 million Series D led by Prysm Capital (Eclipse, Greenoaks, and MVP Ventures participating) to accelerate autonomous driving across those form factors. TechCrunch puts cumulative funding at about $455 million. Valuation was not disclosed. Rivian holds a minority stake; RJ Scaringe sits on the board. A prior ~$200 million round included DoorDash as a strategic investor with a multiyear autonomy agreement. Amazon is a commercial TM-Q partner from the October 2025 launch. This company is ridealso.com — not ALSO Holding AG (SIX: ALSN). Prysm, Eclipse, Greenoaks, and MVP do not have Venture Capital Tracker fund pages.

Why ALSO is interesting

August 19, 2026: $150M Series D led by Prysm Capital; TechCrunch cites ~$455M raised in under two years with no valuation disclosed — and the consumer launch-edition bike is only now shipping after delays. Not ALSO Holding AG.

Product & use cases

Modular small EVs (TM-B two-wheeler, TM-Q quad) sharing an electric architecture that ALSO says will also support autonomous delivery form factors.

  • Consumer short-trip micromobility
  • Commercial last-mile cargo in bike-lane form factors (Amazon TM-Q collaboration)
  • Autonomous delivery vehicles on the same platform (DoorDash agreement from the prior round)

Key facts

  • Aug 19, 2026: $150M Series D, Prysm Capital lead (TechCrunch)
  • Cumulative ~$455M (TechCrunch). Valuation not disclosed.
  • Launch-edition TM-B beginning to ship after delays; other models fall (company via TechCrunch)
  • Not ALSO Holding AG (also.com / SIX: ALSN)

Funding history (newest first)

Prior growth (Greenoaks-led)

2026 $200M
  • Greenoaks (lead)
  • Prysm Capital (participant)
  • DoorDash (participant)

Source: https://techcrunch.com/2026/08/19/rivian-spinout-also-raises-another-150-million/

Series D

2026-08 $150M
  • Prysm Capital (lead)
  • Eclipse (participant)
  • Greenoaks (participant)
  • MVP Ventures (participant)

Source: https://techcrunch.com/2026/08/19/rivian-spinout-also-raises-another-150-million/

Competitive landscape

Edge: Rivian spinout with a named minority owner, shared architecture across form factors, and named fleet logos (Amazon, DoorDash). That is a path, not disclosed unit economics.

ALSO is priced as a small-EV + autonomy build with ~$455M in (press) but no published valuation. Diligence gate is shipped hardware and converted fleet deals, not the Series letter.

  • Rivian adjacent

    Parent-adjacent public EV maker; minority owner. Full-size vehicles vs ALSO’s sub-car products.

  • ALSO Holding AG alternative

    Name collision only. European tech distributor (SIX: ALSN), not this startup.

Notable stories

  • Aug 19, 2026: $150M Series D, Prysm lead; ~$455M cumulative; no valuation (TechCrunch)
  • Oct 22, 2025: TM-B / TM-Q launch; Amazon commercial quad collaboration (PR Newswire / TechCrunch)

Industries

Market / IPO context

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

Related funding articles

Venture Capital Tracker pieces that cover ALSO's financing or category context.

FAQs about ALSO

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

$150 million Series D on August 19, 2026, led by Prysm Capital. TechCrunch cites about $455 million total raised.
Not disclosed in the August 19, 2026 coverage.
No. This is the Rivian micromobility spinout (ridealso.com). ALSO Holding AG is a Swiss-listed European distributor.
Small electric vehicles — TM-B bike and TM-Q quad — plus autonomy software the Series D is meant to fund.
Prysm Capital led the Series D. Eclipse, Greenoaks, and MVP Ventures participated. None have /fund/ pages here. Rivian is a minority owner.
No. Hardware is early: launch-edition bikes beginning to ship as of the August 19 coverage.
Growth-stage private; the August 2026 instrument is Series D.
Private as of August 2026. Not to be confused with public ALSO Holding AG.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.