· Updated · Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies

What Is Castelion’s Valuation in 2026? $13B After $1B

Castelion closed a $1B Series C on August 19, 2026: $800M equity plus a $250M revolver, at $13B. JPM, a16z, and Carlyle co-led. Google still ranks the $350M Series B. Revenue was not disclosed.

What Is Castelion’s Valuation in 2026? $13B After $1B

Castelion is worth $13 billion after a $1 billion Series C on August 19, 2026. That package is $800 million of equity plus a $250 million committed revolver. JPMorganChase’s Strategic Investment Group, Andreessen Horowitz, and Carlyle co-led.

Unexpected truth: Google still ranks the December 2025 $350 million Series B and The Information’s ~$12 billion target. The live company mark is $13 billion. Revenue was not disclosed.

This page is for people deciding whether Castelion (or this hypersonic-manufacturing lane) is worth another hour. Last verified August 20, 2026. Fact vs our read is labeled below.

Five-minute decision

If you need…Verdict
What happenedFunded. $800M equity + $250M revolver @ $13B, Aug 19, 2026. JPM / a16z / Carlyle co-leads.
What Castelion isHypersonic missile manufacturer. Blackbeard first; longer-range strike and defense systems next.
Whether it is “shipping”Program of record; company targets 2027 fielding. Named contract dollars are a >$500M 18-month total, not a unit cadence.
Whether to diligenceYes, if you underwrite production + procurement. No, if you need a revenue multiple before a first call.

Investigate further when: you believe the scarce asset is magazine depth at commercial unit cost, and $13B is a factory print, not a software mark.

Wait or pass when: your bar is disclosed units/year, or you think Anduril already occupies the defense-tech allocation that would fund a hypersonic specialist.

What happened

FieldDetail
CompanyCastelion (castelion.com); CEO Bryon Hargis; HQ Torrance, CA
Round$1B Series C = $800M equity + $250M committed revolver · $13B valuation
DateAugust 19, 2026 (company + PR Newswire)
Equity co-leadsJPM Strategic Investment Group (Security and Resiliency Initiative); a16z; Carlyle (no /fund/ page)
Directory funds returningLightspeed, Altimeter, General Catalyst
Other names in the PRLavrock Ventures, Interlagos, T. Rowe Price Associates (new; advised account)
Use of proceedsBlackbeard production (Project Ranger + beyond); longer-range strike; defensive systems
Traction disclosed>$500M U.S. military contracts in 18 months; program of record in under four years; fielding targeted 2027
Prior close$350M Series B, December 5, 2025, Altimeter + Lightspeed

Do not treat $1 billion as all equity. The company splits $800 million stock and $250 million credit.

What Castelion actually does

Product (company): Blackbeard, described as the first American hypersonic missile engineered from the start for industrial-rate output and commercial unit cost. Manufacturing includes mixing its own propellant in New Mexico (Lightspeed quote).

Job: give the U.S. and allies hypersonic strike in quantity, not a handful of exquisite rounds.

Three spend lines in the PR:

  1. More Blackbeard at and beyond the 1,000-acre Project Ranger campus (Sandoval County, NM). Company: largest dedicated hypersonic missile plant in the U.S.; >$250 million already spent privately; “hundreds of millions more” now.
  2. Longer-range precision strike that reuses Blackbeard tech — a cheaper complement to large exquisite systems.
  3. Air and missile defense products using the same manufacturing model (magazine depth).

Saronic overlap (June 11, 2026 company note): Saronic and Castelion said they will demonstrate maritime hypersonic launch from Saronic autonomous surface vessels, targeting 2027. That is a demo plan, not a disclosed offtake.

How big is Castelion actually?

QuestionDisclosed?What we have
ValuationYes$13B (company, Aug 19)
EquityYes$800M
CreditYes$250M committed revolver
Headline “$1B”PackageEquity + revolver. Not $1B of primary stock.
Military contractsCompany total>$500M over 18 months. One named piece: June 16 Navy $23.4M FFP for 50 Blackbeard EOC prototypes (company)
Revenue / units / yearNoInterlagos quote talks about “thousands a year.” That is an investor, not a company 10-K.
FieldingTarget2027 (company)
Prior markClose dateSeries B Dec 5, 2025 ($350M). July 2025 TechCrunch was raise-in-progress.
Older SERPStaleThe Information ~$12B target; Forge/secondary pages. Live mark is $13B.

Contracts in aggregate, not a P&L. That is the most useful number on this page besides $13 billion.

Worked numbers (indicative)

  1. Setup: Dec 5, 2025 — $350M Series B to mass-produce Blackbeard.
  2. Move: Aug 19, 2026 — $800M equity at $13B, plus $250M credit for a production company.
  3. Punch: If $800M is new primary at $13B post, implied dilution is about 6.2% ($800M / $13B). That is headline arithmetic, not a disclosed option pool or preference stack. The revolver does not dilute.

Same-month defense tape (not Castelion’s P&L): Neros printed $2.5B on August 11. Heaviside printed $600M on August 12. Anduril is $61B after May’s $5B Series H. Castelion sits between Neros and Anduril on price, and next to Heaviside on Southern California munitions.

Castelion vs Anduril — what differs

CastelionAnduril
Latest mark$13B, Aug 19, 2026$61B, May 2026
Last raise$800M equity + $250M revolver$5B Series H
ProductHypersonic missiles (Blackbeard)Software-defined defense platform (drones, C2, c-UAS)
What “scale” meansFactory + magazine depthLattice + many vehicle classes
Directory leads this printa16z co-lead; JPM + CarlyleThrive + a16z
Main riskProcurement + explosives manufacturingBreadth vs primes

Choose Castelion when you are underwriting hypersonic production. Choose Anduril when you are underwriting a software-defined defense conglomerate. Do not mash the two $B marks.

Castelion vs Neros: both Torrance-area manufacturers raising in August 2026. Neros is attritable drones at $2.5B. Castelion is hypersonic missiles at $13B. Same week, different payloads.

Why investors likely wrote $800M

Known evidence (company + named quotes)

  • >$500M in U.S. military contracts over 18 months (company).
  • Program of record in under four years; 2027 fielding target.
  • Project Ranger already took >$250M of private infrastructure spend.
  • Katherine Boyle (a16z): factory in New Mexico and a production agreement with the department named in her quote.
  • Ravi Mhatre (Lightspeed): led Series A before a complete system had flown; now “shipping hardware to the services.”
  • Bank + PE + venture in one syndicate (JPM, Carlyle, a16z) — credit sits next to equity because this is a plant.

Our interpretation (not an IC memo)

BetWhy it could justify $13B
Production, not a slideCampus + propellant + program of record
Credit attached$250M revolver is how you fund working capital once contracts exist
Category FOMODefense mega-rounds (Anduril $61B, Saronic $9.25B) already cleared the path
Cost-per-roundCompany thesis is commercial unit cost vs exquisite hypersonics

What we cannot claim: a revenue multiple, units/year, or that Interlagos’s “thousands a year” is current run-rate.

What has to be true for Castelion to win

  1. 2027 fielding happens with enough rounds to matter, not a ceremony.
  2. Project Ranger’s extra “hundreds of millions” actually raise output.
  3. The longer-range and defensive products do not dilute Blackbeard execution.
  4. The >$500M contract total converts on schedule.
  5. JPM/Carlyle credit stays available if working capital spikes.

What could break the thesis

  • Hypersonic test or production slips past the 2027 language.
  • Primes match cost at a volume Castelion cannot finance.
  • The $13B mark was a scarcity print that later public comps will not pay.
  • Mixing $800M equity and $250M debt in Slack as “$1B of dilution.”

When not to use this page

  • Do not treat $13B as the December 2025 figure. December was the $350M B.
  • Do not treat The Information’s ~$12B target as the live mark.
  • Carlyle, JPM, Lavrock, Interlagos, and T. Rowe are not in our fund directory.
  • Do not use Interlagos’s “thousands a year” as a company unit disclosure.
  • Do not confuse this ALSO-week physical AI tape with ALSO the Rivian spinout.

Where to go next

Month tape: August 2026 VC news. Same-day mobility: ALSO $150M Series D. Defense stack: Anduril $61B, Neros $2.5B, Heaviside $600M, Saronic $9.25B. Entity: Castelion. a16z map: hot portfolio.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. Castelion — $1B Series C (Aug 19, 2026)
  2. PR Newswire — Castelion Series C (Aug 19, 2026)
  3. Castelion — $350M Series B close (Dec 5, 2025)
  4. Castelion — Saronic maritime hypersonic demo (Jun 11, 2026)
  5. Castelion — Navy $23.4M Blackbeard order (Jun 16, 2026)
Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »