· Investment Strategies · 2 sources · Updated · Verified

Bain Capital Ventures Closes $1.6B Fund XI — Not Bain Capital’s $225B AUM

Bain Capital Ventures said on September 16, 2026 that Fund XI is $1.6 billion of total capital for early- and growth-stage technology. Bloomberg put the predecessor at $1.4 billion. Bain Capital’s about $225 billion AUM is the parent platform, not this vehicle.

By Venture Capital Tracker Editorial

Share
Bain Capital Ventures Closes $1.6B Fund XI — Not Bain Capital’s $225B AUM

Bain Capital Ventures said on September 16, 2026 that it has raised $1.6 billion of total capital for Fund XI, to make early- and growth-stage investments in technology companies. The number that will get copied wrong is about $225 billion — that is Bain Capital parent AUM, not this vehicle. Bloomberg put the predecessor at $1.4 billion and said Fund XI is slightly larger; BCV’s own post did not name the prior size. LP names were not disclosed. Last verified September 17, 2026. Sources: BCV, Bloomberg.

A $1.6 billion multi-stage venture close is real dry powder. It is not a $225 billion “Bain” headline and it is not a16z Growth’s $8.5 billion scaling book.

Five-minute decision

If you need…Verdict
What happenedFund closed. Fund XI $1.6B total capital. Sep 16, 2026.
MandateEarly- and growth-stage “outlier technology businesses” (BCV). Bloomberg: infrastructure, physical world, security, services.
$225BParent AUM (BCV). Not Fund XI.
Prior fund$1.4B is Bloomberg, not the BCV post.
LPs / first vs finalNot disclosed.
DirectoryYes — /fund/bain-capital-ventures.

Investigate further when: you want a Bain-platform multi-stage check next to names we already cover (Redis lineage, Etched, Rillet).

Wait or pass when: you add Fund XI to Bain Capital PE AUM, or treat $1.6B as a first close of a larger target the firm did not state.

What closed

FieldDetail
FirmBain Capital Ventures — NYC, 590 Madison. Site: baincapitalventures.com.
VehicleFund XI · $1.6B total capital · Sep 16, 2026
ParentBain Capital ~$225B AUM (BCV post). Firm origin story: $37M in 1984.
Predecessor$1.4B (Bloomberg). Not restated by BCV.
Thesis languagePost-AGI / “duty to the future” essay. Deployment still early + growth tech.
LPsNone named. No Form D cited here.

Bloomberg’s sector list — infrastructure, physical world, security, services, including customer-support or IT work — is reporter paraphrase of where the firm will look. It is not a published exclusion list.

BCV $1.6B vs Swish $250M vs a16z Growth $8.5B

BCV XISwish IIIa16z Growth
DateSep 16, 2026Sep 3, 2026Aug 31, 2026
Amount$1.6B new vehicle$250M new vehicle$8.5B existing Growth total
JobMulti-stage ventureConcentrated Seed / AScale already-winning companies
DirectoryYesNoYes

Do not add them. They answer different founder questions. Cherubic VI is a $68.88 million solo-GP book — smaller still.

Named BCV overlap already on this site includes Etched and Rillet. This close is not a new round for those companies.

What remains undisclosed

No LP letter. No first-versus-final split. No check-size grid. No BCV-only AUM besides this $1.6 billion print. Predecessor $1.4 billion is Bloomberg. “Post-AGI” is editorial framing in the essay, not a portfolio rule you can diligence from the post.

Related: BCV fund page · September 16–17 index · a16z Growth $8.5B.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker on Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to see more of our venture-capital reporting in Google Search.

Add as preferred source

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Related articles

See all

Frequently Asked Questions

Direct answers to common questions about this topic

Companies and investors in this story

Explore their profiles or save them for later.

View watchlist
Back to Blog