· Venture Capital Tracker Editorial · investment-strategies

A16z Growth Fund Hits $8.5B: $1.75B Top-Up, Not a New Vehicle

On August 31, 2026 Andreessen Horowitz said its fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion — $1.75 billion more than the $6.75 billion January launch. That is a top-up of an existing growth vehicle, three days after the $1.1 billion Machine Age Fund. LP names were not disclosed.

a16z Growth Fund Hits $8.5B: $1.75B Top-Up, Not a New Vehicle

Andreessen Horowitz said its fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion on August 31, 2026 — but that is not a new $8.5 billion vehicle. TechCrunch reports the fund launched in January at $6.75 billion; the August post adds $1.75 billion to that book. Three days earlier a16z posted a separate $1.1 billion Machine Age Fund for hardware. Last verified September 1, 2026. Facts below are the a16z Growth post unless labeled TechCrunch.

Five-minute decision

If you need…Verdict
What happenedTop-up. Fifth Growth fund to $8.5B. Incremental cash: $1.75B vs January.
What it buysGrowth-stage scaling: multi-product, multi-geo, GTM/pricing help. Not chips.
Hardware vs growthHardware is Machine Age $1.1B (Aug 28).
LPs / close splitNot disclosed.

Investigate further when: you are already at the Databricks/SpaceX “bank the corner” stage a16z is describing.

Wait or pass when: you need a seed check, LP names, or a first-check size.

What happened

FieldDetail
FirmAndreessen Horowitz
VehicleFifth Growth fund
New total$8.5B · Aug 31, 2026 (a16z)
Prior mark$6.75B January launch (TechCrunch)
Incremental$1.75B
AuthorsDavid George, Raghu Raghuram
LP names / first-vs-finalNot disclosed
Named scaling examplesDatabricks, SpaceX

a16z’s post lists six concurrent S-curves (enterprise AI, consumer AI, American Dynamism, robotics, healthcare, the compute stack) and says Growth has helped more than 100 companies over 7+ years. That is firm marketing, not a deployment schedule.

Growth $8.5B vs Machine Age $1.1B vs Accel $3.5B

a16z Growtha16z Machine AgeAccel $3.5B
DateAug 31, 2026Aug 28, 2026Aug 11, 2026
Amount$8.5B total ($1.75B add-on)$1.1B new vehicle$3.5B four early-stage vehicles
JobScale existing winnersPhysical AI hardwareFirst checks + follow-on
DirectoryYesSame firm page

Do not add $8.5B and $1.1B into one “a16z August raise.” They are different products. Do not treat $8.5B as cash a16z collected last week.

Worked numbers (indicative)

  1. Setup: a company raising a $200 million Series D.
  2. Move: $8.5B can write that check and still reserve follow-on.
  3. Punch: one $200M lead is about 2.4% of the fund — illustrative, not a16z’s check-size policy. The post does not publish a typical check. The new $1.75B alone could write about eight such checks if it were all primary and undiluted — also illustrative.

What remains undisclosed

LP names, first-versus-final close, deployment pace, and typical check size are all missing from the August 31 post — the open diligence question is who supplied the $1.75 billion add-on and how fast it deploys. Do not call this a new $8.5B fund, merge it with Machine Age, or invent LP names. The directory still lists a16z AUM as $35B+; TechCrunch cites $90B as of the January 2026 platform raise.

Related: Andreessen Horowitz · Databricks $190B · September 1 tape.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. A16z — Expanding the Growth Fund and Platform (Aug 31, 2026)
  2. TechCrunch — a16z Growth fund to $8.5B (Aug 31, 2026)
  3. A16z — The Machine Age Fund (Aug 28, 2026)

Research the entities in this story

Persistent profiles connect this article to the companies and investors it discusses.

Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

September 2026 VC News: Tabby $6.5B, May $1.4B SPAC, Manus $4B Talks

Through September 19: Tabby announced $233 million at $6.5 billion (SAMA still pending). May Mobility agreed a $1.4 billion EV SPAC — not a raise. Manus is in talks for $500 million at $4 billion. Motive’s $1.3 billion-plus, Harvey’s $15.5 billion, and Mistral’s €3 billion Series D remain the month’s confirmed megaprints. Nvidia–Hugging Face $12.93 billion is agreed, not closed.

September 1 VC News: a16z Growth $8.5B, Kepler $8M, Cloover $100M Facility

September 1 tape: a16z’s fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion ($1.75 billion top-up, not a new vehicle), Kepler Aerospace $8 million seed for Indian swarm ISR, Cloover’s $100 million lending facility at a claimed $350 million run rate, and Cherubic Fund VI at $68.88 million. YC Summer Demo Day is September 10.