· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies · 2 min read
Cherubic Ventures Closes $68.88M Fund VI — Early-Stage Vehicle, $500M+ AUM Claim
Taipei/US solo-GP firm Cherubic Ventures closed Fund VI at $68.88 million on September 1, 2026 and said AUM across six funds has surpassed $500 million. Mandate is early AI-native companies. Named historical checks we already cover: Astranis and Flexport. No LP names. No Cherubic /fund/ page here.
VCT data record
Funding event facts
Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.
Cherubic Ventures closes $68.88M Fund VI
Early-stage AI-native vehicle. Firm says six-fund AUM surpassed $500 million. LP names not disclosed.
- Event type
- Fund Close
- Event date
- Sep 1, 2026
- Amount
- $68.88M
- Confidence
- Company Disclosed
Sources: prnewswire.com
Cherubic Ventures closed Fund VI at $68.88 million on September 1, 2026, and said assets under management across six funds have surpassed $500 million — a small early-stage book, not a growth vehicle. The 8s are cultural branding; the useful graph for this site is historical: Cherubic lists Astranis and Flexport among early checks. There is no Cherubic /fund/ page here. Last verified September 1, 2026. Source: PR Newswire.
Five-minute decision
| If you need… | Verdict |
|---|---|
| What happened | Fund closed. $68.88M Fund VI. Solo GP Matt Cheng. |
| Mandate | Early AI-native: infra, developer tools, enterprise, healthcare, physical AI, robotics. |
| Proof on this site | Astranis $455M 2026 raise; Flexport Series E 2022. |
| Tracker next step | Do not expect a directory profile. Compare size to Capital F $17M, not to a16z Growth $8.5B. |
Investigate further when: you want a solo-GP first check with US/Taiwan coverage.
Wait or pass when: you need a $500M+ institutional vehicle, or you treat Sudo AI’s ~$2B as a Tracker-verified mark.
What closed
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Firm | Cherubic Ventures — founded 2015, Taipei origin, US presence. Solo GP Matt Cheng. |
| Vehicle | Fund VI · $68.88M · Sep 1, 2026 |
| AUM claim | >$500M across six funds (firm) |
| Prior | Fund V $110M, Aug 2022 (prior PR) |
| LP names | Not disclosed |
| Firm-named live bets | Sudo AI (~$2B, firm); Entire ($60M seed, firm — “largest seed for a developer-tools startup”); Patlytics; Max AI; Generation Lab; therapiAI |
| Historical names we cover | Hims & Hers (listed; no /startup/ here), Flexport, Calm (no page), Paidy (PayPal, firm), 91APP (listed, firm), Astranis |
The release says Fund VI companies have already raised more than $500 million in subsequent funding. That is follow-on into the portfolio, not Fund VI’s own size.
Cherubic $68.88M vs a16z Growth $8.5B
| Cherubic VI | a16z Growth | |
|---|---|---|
| Date | Sep 1, 2026 | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Amount | $68.88M new vehicle | $8.5B existing Growth fund total |
| Job | Day-one / early AI-native | Scale already-winning companies |
| Directory | No | Yes |
Do not add them. They answer different founder questions.
What remains undisclosed
LP names and check-size policy are not in the release. Cherubic’s ~$2B Sudo AI claim and Entire’s $60M seed are firm marketing about companies without Tracker pages — treat them as unverified here. Do not treat $500M AUM as Fund VI’s size or invent a Cherubic /fund/ page.
Related: Astranis · Flexport · Capital F $17M · September 1 tape.
- 2026-vc-news
- venture-capital
- fund-close
- +2 more
Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google
Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.
Last updated:
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.