· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies · 4 min read
How Much Did AusperBio Raise? $120M Series C, No Valuation
AusperBio closed a $120 million Series C on August 27, 2026. An unnamed strategic investor led. RA Capital joined. The company cites $360 million raised since 2024. Valuation was not disclosed. AHB-137 is in Phase 3 in China and remains investigational.
VCT data record
Funding event facts
Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.
AusperBio raises $120M Series C
Unnamed strategic investor led. RA Capital joined. Valuation not disclosed. Company cites $360M raised since 2024.
- Event type
- Funding Round
- Event date
- Aug 27, 2026
- Stage / label
- Series C
- Amount
- $120M
- Confidence
- Company Disclosed
Company / target: AusperBio
Participants: RA Capital Management , Qiming Venture Partners
Sources: prnewswire.com
AusperBio raised $120 million Series C on August 27, 2026. An unnamed strategic investor led. RA Capital joined. The company says capital raised since 2024 is now $360 million.
Unexpected truth: there is no valuation and no named lead. $360 million is a cumulative figure, not this close. AHB-137 is in Phase 3 in China and the company says it is not approved.
This page is for people deciding whether a late-stage HBV oligonucleotide print belongs on the August tape next to the AI mega-rounds. Last verified August 30, 2026. Facts below are the PR Newswire release.
Five-minute decision
| If you need… | Verdict |
|---|---|
| What happened | Funded. $120M Series C, Aug 27, 2026. No valuation. |
| Who led | Unnamed strategic investor. RA Capital is the named new name. |
| What AusperBio is | Oligonucleotide therapeutics for chronic hepatitis B. Not an AI copilot. |
| Whether it is shipping | Clinical. AHB-137 in Phase 3 in China. Not approved. |
| Whether to diligence | Yes, if you underwrite functional-cure HBV. No, if you need a mark or a named lead first. |
Investigate further when: you believe a Phase 3 ASO backbone plus a targeted siRNA is worth a nine-figure check without a published post-money.
Wait or pass when: you need the lead’s name, a valuation, or U.S. approval.
What happened
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | AusperBio Therapeutics, Inc. and Ausper Biopharma Co., Ltd. (ausperbio.com); CEO Dr. Guofeng Cheng; CSO Dr. Chris Yang |
| Round | $120M Series C · no valuation · Aug 27, 2026 (PR Newswire) |
| Lead | “A leading strategic investor” — not named |
| New name | RA Capital Management (no /fund/ page) |
| Returning names | HanKang Capital, Sherpa Capital, InnoPinnacle Fund, Qiming Venture Partners, YuanBio Venture Capital, CDH Investments (no /fund/ pages) |
| Cumulative capital | $360M since 2024 (company) — includes this C |
| Use of proceeds | AHB-137 Phase 3 and commercialization readiness; AHB-171; combination approaches (company) |
| Revenue / valuation | Not disclosed |
Do not invent the lead. Do not add RA Capital, Qiming, Sherpa, or CDH as /fund/ pages.
What AusperBio actually does
AHB-137 (company): an unconjugated antisense oligonucleotide from the Med-Oligo platform, designed to suppress hepatitis B surface antigen, inhibit viral DNA replication, and promote immune reactivation. Global Phase 1 and multiple Phase 2 studies are complete. A Phase 3 trial is running in China. Investigational. Not approved.
AHB-171 (company): a hepatocyte-targeted siRNA using the Au-HALO delivery platform. First clinical candidate from that platform. Also investigational.
Job: move chronic HBV from long-term viral suppression toward a functional cure. The release cites WHO figures of 254 million people with chronic HBV and about 1.1 million deaths a year. Those are company-cited WHO numbers, not our audit.
AusperBio vs Anagram vs Aktis — what differs
| AusperBio | Anagram | Aktis | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Live print | $120M Series C, Aug 27, no valuation | $250M Blackstone, May 2026 | Public AKTS (Jan 2026 IPO) |
| Asset | HBV ASO + targeted siRNA | Recombinant oral enzymes for EPI | Alpha radiopharma for solid tumors |
| Clinical claim you can use | Phase 3 in China; not approved | Phase 2 vs Creon | Public clinical-stage radiopharma |
| Named specialist | RA Capital participated | Blackstone Life Sciences led | RA Capital led the 2024 B |
| Directory overlap | None of this syndicate | None | a16z is on the Aktis list |
Same bucket (therapeutics still clears nine figures in 2026). Three different balance sheets.
Worked numbers (company figures)
Setup: AusperBio says it has raised $360 million since 2024. This close is $120 million.
Move: divide the new C by the cumulative figure.
Punch: this Series C is one-third of the disclosed 2024–26 stack — illustrative only. It tells you the C is large relative to the company’s own running total. It does not produce a valuation, a price per share, or a Phase 3 success probability.
When not to use this page
- Do not treat $360 million as the August check. The August check is $120 million.
- Do not invent a lead name or a valuation.
- Do not write AHB-137 or AHB-171 as approved drugs.
- Do not invent
/fund/pages for RA Capital, Qiming, Sherpa, HanKang, YuanBio, InnoPinnacle, or CDH. - Do not paste the WHO burden stats as if we measured them.
Where to go next
Entity: AusperBio. Same-year therapeutics: Anagram $250M. RA Capital’s earlier public print: Aktis. Day tape: August 29–30 VC news. Month: August 2026 VC news. Directory: /directory.
Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google
Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.
Last updated:
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.