· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies · 4 min read
How Much Did Standard Metrics Raise? $20M Series B, No Valuation
Standard Metrics closed a $20 million Series B led by 8VC. Spark Capital participated. The company cites roughly $50 million raised to date, most from customers, 150 firms, $400 billion in AUM on the platform, and no valuation.
VCT data record
Funding event facts
Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.
Standard Metrics raises $20M Series B
8VC led. Spark Capital participated. Valuation not disclosed. Company cites ~$50M raised to date, mostly from customers.
- Event type
- Funding Round
- Event date
- Aug 24, 2026
- Stage / label
- Series B
- Amount
- $20M
- Confidence
- Company Disclosed
Company / target: Standard Metrics
Lead: 8VC
Participants: Spark Capital
Sources: standardmetrics.io prnewswire.com
Standard Metrics raised $20 million Series B on August 24, 2026. 8VC led. Spark Capital participated.
Unexpected truth: there is no valuation, and the company says most of ~$50 million raised to date came from customers, not from a classic outside-lead stack. The product is GP/LP portfolio operations software — the job PitchBook’s free profile does not finish.
This page is for people who searched the brand and need the live round, the named funds we actually cover, and the claims that are still company-only. Last verified August 31, 2026. Facts below are the company post and the PR Newswire release.
Five-minute decision
| If you need… | Verdict |
|---|---|
| What happened | Funded. $20M Series B, Aug 24. No valuation. |
| Who led | 8VC. Spark in. |
| What they sell | AI-native portfolio reporting for VC/PE. |
| Traction you can cite | Company: 150 firms, $400B AUM on platform, 10,000 portcos, ~20x since Series A. |
| Whether to diligence | Yes, if you underwrite GP back-office software. No, if you need a mark or audited ARR. |
Investigate further when: you believe LP reporting and valuation work will move from email/PDFs onto an AI-native ledger the GPs already pay for.
Wait or pass when: you need ARR, net retention, or a post-money.
What happened
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | Standard Metrics (standardmetrics.io); CEO John Melas-Kyriazi; founded 2020; San Francisco |
| Round | $20M Series B · no valuation · Aug 24, 2026 |
| Lead | 8VC |
| Named participants | Salesforce Ventures, Spark Capital, January Capital, First Trust Capital Partners, Socii Capital, Kindergarten Ventures, Calm Ventures, Gaingels |
| Cumulative capital | ~$50M to date (company). Most from customers. Series A amount not restated in this post. |
| Use of proceeds | Company: AI document processing, AI Analyst / MCP, more firms on the network |
| Revenue | Not disclosed. “~20x since Series A” is a company growth claim, not a dollar. |
Do not invent /fund/ pages for Salesforce Ventures, January Capital, or Gaingels.
What Standard Metrics actually does
Job: replace spreadsheet / email / PDF portfolio reporting with one data plane GPs, CFOs, and LPs can reuse.
Company: automated ingestion, document parsing, on-platform AI Analyst, MCP server, agentic reporting. One unnamed customer cut quarterly reporting from 15 days to 2 days by wiring Standard Metrics data into AI workflows — a single anecdote, not a product SLA.
Named customers (PR, not the blog): General Catalyst, Bessemer, Accel. Accel has no /fund/ page here.
Network claim (company): >150 firms, >$400B AUM, >10,000 portfolio companies, 30% of the current Forbes Midas List. Treat the Midas percentage as marketing until a list is published.
Standard Metrics vs PitchBook vs Carta — what differs
| Standard Metrics | PitchBook free company page | Carta | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Job on this query | Diligence memo for the $20M B | Gated funding/valuation tease | Cap table / equity infrastructure |
| Who pays | GPs / PE ops teams (company) | Data subscribers | Companies and investors on the cap table |
| Live print | $20M, no valuation | Profile exists; dollars behind login | Not this round |
| Funds we can link | 8VC, Spark | n/a | n/a |
PitchBook ranks for the brand. It does not tell you 8VC led, Spark followed, or that the company refuses a mark. That is the gap this page fills.
Worked numbers (company figures)
Setup: company says ~$50 million raised to date and this close is $20 million.
Move: $20M / $50M = 40% of disclosed cumulative capital — illustrative only.
Punch: the B is a large slice of the running total if ~$50M is complete. The same post says most of that stack came from customers, so the $20M is not “first institutional money.” It does not produce ARR or a valuation.
When not to use this page
- Do not invent a valuation.
- Do not convert 20x since Series A or $400B AUM into Standard Metrics revenue.
- Do not treat the 15 days → 2 days story as a benchmark.
- Do not write Accel, Salesforce Ventures, or January Capital as
/fund/pages. - Do not confuse this company with a “standard metrics” accounting glossary.
Where to go next
Entity: Standard Metrics. Lead: 8VC. Participant: Spark Capital (also led CivilGrid’s $26M A the same week). Named customers with pages: General Catalyst, Bessemer. Day tape: August 31 VC news. Month: August 2026 VC news. Directory: /directory.
Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google
Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.
Last updated:
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.