Startup profile for BioAge Labs: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

BioAge Labs funding, valuation and investors

Clinical-stage biotech targeting metabolic disease and aging biology (public: BIOA).

Keep track of BioAge Labs

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

Series D

$170M · February 2024

Latest known valuation

Not publicly disclosed

Total disclosed equity funding

$170M

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

public

public

Investors in latest funding

Other: Andreessen Horowitz

Latest tracked event: IPO (September 2024). It is shown separately because it is not counted as disclosed equity funding.

Sources: latest funding Last verified: 2026-07-25

Overview

BioAge Labs is a clinical-stage biotech targeting metabolic disease and aging biology using AI-driven target discovery from longitudinal health records. Lead asset azelaprag is in obesity trials with an Eli Lilly partnership. The company raised a $170M Series D in 2024 and went public on Nasdaq (BIOA) in September 2024. a16z Bio + Health, Khosla Ventures, F-Prime, and Third Rock are among crossover backers.

Why BioAge Labs is interesting

AI-driven target discovery from longitudinal health records; lead asset azelaprag in obesity trials with Lilly partnership — a16z among crossover health backers pre-IPO.

Product & use cases

Clinical-stage biotech using AI on longitudinal health data to discover aging/metabolic targets — lead program azelaprag in obesity with Lilly partnership.

  • Obesity and metabolic disease therapeutics
  • Aging biology target discovery from human datasets
  • Pharma partnership on clinical-stage assets

Key facts

  • Series D (Feb 2024): $170M led by Sofinnova; a16z Bio + Health among existing investors (Reuters)
  • IPO (Sep 2024) on Nasdaq following obesity-program partnership momentum with Eli Lilly
  • Co-investors not in VCT directory: Sofinnova Investments, Longitude Capital, RA Capital, Lilly Ventures
  • Source: https://ir.bioagelabs.com/news-releases/news-release-details/bioage-announces-170-million-oversubscribed-series-d-financing

Funding history (newest first)

Investors in our directory

Funds linked from BioAge Labs's profile — open a fund page for stage focus and related deal articles.

Competitive landscape

Edge: BioAge Labs differentiates through focused product scope and a16z-backed GTM in its category — see competitors for tradeoffs vs. incumbents.

BioAge Labs operates in a competitive category where incumbents have distribution but startups win on workflow fit. See named competitors for honest better/worse notes; we do not invent market share.

  • Altos Labs adjacent

    Aging biology focus; different pipeline stage and approach.

  • Calico adjacent

    Google-backed aging research; less clinical-stage public exposure.

  • Novartis obesity programs incumbent

    Big pharma in same therapeutic area as azelaprag.

Notable stories

  • BioAge IPO'd on Nasdaq (BIOA) in Sep 2024 after Lilly partnership momentum on obesity program azelaprag.

Industries

Biotech & Life Sciences Healthtech

Market / IPO context

Ticker: BIOA (NASDAQ)

IPO status: public

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

FAQs about BioAge Labs

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

Clinical-stage biotech using AI on longitudinal health data to discover aging/metabolic targets — lead program azelaprag in obesity with Lilly partnership.
Andreessen Horowitz (/fund/andreessen-horowitz) among disclosed investors. See fundraising rounds and investors[] for co-investors in our directory.
We track a16z-backed companies strategically relevant for founders mapping competitors and investors following active theses.
Stage: public; status: public.
See fundraisingRounds — amounts included only when verified in press or company announcements.
See competitors and competitiveAnalysis sections for named alternatives.
Profitability not publicly disclosed unless noted in highlights. Public companies: check SEC filings.
Tagged: biotech-life-sciences, healthtech.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.