· Venture Capital Tracker Editorial · investment-strategies

Mazama Energy’s $135M: Series B, Grants, or Both?

Mazama announced $135 million of new capital on September 17, 2026, including an oversubscribed Series B led by Centaurus and Doerr Capital. Axios reports Series B funding and grants. Valuation was not disclosed. Newberry’s 331°C well is the proof; commercial power is not.

Mazama Energy’s $135M: Series B, Grants, or Both?

Mazama Energy announced $135 million of new capital on September 17, 2026, including an oversubscribed Series B led by Centaurus Capital (John Arnold) and Doerr Capital. Khosla Ventures and Gates Frontier returned. ConocoPhillips and Shell Ventures joined. Valuation was not disclosed. GlobeNewswire and Canary Media treat $135 million as a bag that includes Series B. Axios says Series B funding and grants. TechCrunch called it a Series B. Do not flatten that into “$135 million of priced equity.”

Hottest disclosed EGS well, still pre-power. The money is to prove 15 MW horizontal wells — not to match Fervo’s public offtake.

Key facts

FieldDetail
CompanyMazama Energy (mazamaenergy.com) — Frisco/Dallas; Newberry, Oregon field
Amount$135M new capital including Series B (company). Axios: funding and grants
LeadsCentaurus Capital, Doerr Capital. **
ReturningKhosla Ventures (incubator), Gates Frontier
StrategicsConocoPhillips, Shell Ventures
Also namedSiteGround Capital, H. Barton Asset Management, Rothschild Foundation
Technical print629°F / 331°C EGS (2025); second well 10,350 ft ~80% faster
NextProject Ceres (DOE-supported): 15 MW/well; power test 2027
Company targets>10 GWe Newberry resource (vs Khosla’s 5 GW comment last year); 200 MW first site by 2030
Valuation / ARR / offtake $Not disclosed

What the wells actually show

Mazama is not selling steam from a natural aquifer. It fractures hot, dry rock and wants supercritical fluid around 750°F / 400°C, which it says can deliver up to 10× conventional geothermal output per well. CEO Sriram Vasantharajan told Canary that superhot rock is “almost essential” for geothermal to compete with fossil fuels.

The 2025 Newberry well is a temperature record, not a PPA. Ceres is the commercial blueprint: horizontal wells, DOE support, drilling later this year, testing early next year. Rig time matters — Canary notes >$100,000/day. An 80% faster second well is the operating tell, if it holds at 15,000 feet.

Mazama vs Fervo (and storage)

MazamaFervoForm Energy
StatusPrivate, pre-powerPublic FRVO; sells powerPrivate; iron-air storage
JobSuperhot EGS at NewberryEGS at cooler commercial tempsMulti-day batteries
Last print$135M bag, Sep 2026IPO ~$1.89B, May 2026$750M Series G, Aug 2026

Same “firm clean watts for AI load” tape. Different product. Form stores; Mazama and Fervo try to generate. Fervo already cleared a public-market diligence bar Mazama has not.

Canary places Sage Geosystems (Texas pilot power) and Quaise (also Newberry; ~$180M in August, not covered here) on the same map. Do not treat those as Mazama closes.

What is not proven

  • Equity vs grant split inside $135M.
  • Valuation, offtake, interconnection, or well cost at 400°C.
  • Whether 10 GWe resource potential becomes 200 MW by 2030.
  • Independent verification of “hottest EGS” beyond company/Khosla claims.

Practical takeaway

  • Founders (geothermal): Sell well productivity and time-to-depth, not terawatt TAM. Arnold’s quote is about innovation required — not a signed offtake.
  • Investors: Diligence the grant mix and whether Ceres produces electrons, not just hotter rock.
  • Operators: Relevant if you need 24/7 western U.S. clean supply and can wait past a 2027 demo.

Sources

  1. GlobeNewswire — Mazama $135M
  2. TechCrunch
  3. Canary Media
  4. Axios Pro

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. GlobeNewswire — Mazama $135M (Sep 17, 2026)
  2. TechCrunch — Mazama $135M Series B
  3. Canary Media — Newberry superhot geothermal
  4. Axios Pro — Series B funding and grants

Research the entities in this story

Persistent profiles connect this article to the companies and investors it discusses.

Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

September 2026 VC News: Tabby $6.5B, May $1.4B SPAC, Manus $4B Talks

Through September 19: Tabby announced $233 million at $6.5 billion (SAMA still pending). May Mobility agreed a $1.4 billion EV SPAC — not a raise. Manus is in talks for $500 million at $4 billion. Motive’s $1.3 billion-plus, Harvey’s $15.5 billion, and Mistral’s €3 billion Series D remain the month’s confirmed megaprints. Nvidia–Hugging Face $12.93 billion is agreed, not closed.