· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies  · 2 min read

Light Raises $46M Series A to Make Electricity an Embedded Service

Matrix led Light’s $46M Series A as the company reported 10x run-rate revenue growth and distribution reaching more than 500,000 homeowners.

Light $46M Series A for embedded electricity

VCT data record

Funding event facts

Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.

Light raises $46M Series A

Event type
Funding Round
Event date
Sep 1, 2026
Stage / label
Series A
Amount
$46M
Confidence
Company Disclosed

Company / target: Light

Lead: Matrix

Participants: Activate Capital , Spark Capital

Sources: prnewswire.com

Light raised a $46 million Series A led by Matrix to sell electricity through homebuilders, property managers and other embedded distribution partners. Activate Capital, Spark Capital, Mischief, Gigascale, MCJ and BoxGroup participated.

The company reports 10 times run-rate-revenue growth and distribution agreements reaching more than 500,000 homeowners and one million multifamily units. Those are different metrics: potential distribution is not the same as active customers or delivered electricity.

The financing

Light says it has raised roughly $60 million in equity in total. Its broader capital base exceeds $100 million when a pre-existing credit facility is included; that debt is not part of the new Series A.

FieldDetail
New equity$46M Series A
LeadMatrix
Total equityApproximately $60M
Broader capital base$100M+ including an earlier credit facility
ValuationNot disclosed

Embedded electricity

Light integrates power service into real-estate and consumer workflows, aiming to remove a separate utility-shopping step. Partners can offer electricity at move-in or through property-management systems while Light handles supply and customer operations.

The model pairs software distribution with an operationally and financially complex commodity. Growth can come quickly through channel agreements, but margins depend on acquisition cost, power procurement, churn, market exposure and credit losses.

What remains unknown

Light did not disclose active accounts, revenue, gross margin, retention, valuation or the terms of its credit facility. “Reach” measures the audience available through partners, not customers converted.

The Series A thesis becomes measurable when Light shows how many eligible households activate service, how long they stay and whether contribution margin remains positive through volatile power prices.

See Odyssey’s mixed climate-finance package and the September 1 roundup.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Sources

  1. PR Newswire — Light Series A announcement

Research the entities in this story

Persistent profiles connect this article to the companies and investors it discusses.

Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

August 2026 VC News: What Closed Through the 31st?

Through August 31: Adaptyv $40M Series A (Highland Europe; no valuation), Clerky agreed to join Stripe (no price), Standard Metrics $20M Series B (8VC; no valuation), plus HubX up to $75M at $1.2B pre, Owner $2.3B, a16z $1.1B Machine Age, OpenAI–Cursor wind-down, AusperBio $120M Series C, and YC’s apply page on Winter 2027. Town and General Intuition remain talks.