· Updated · Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies  · 8 min read

Why Did Gravity Raise $30.5M — and Can It Win?

Gravity’s $30.5M Series A (Lightspeed + Committed Capital) is a bet that AI chat needs a neutral ad exchange. Named logos exist. Revenue, spend, and take rates were not disclosed. Here is what that round actually tells you.

Why Did Gravity Raise $30.5M — and Can It Win?

Gravity raised $30.5 million Series A on August 6, 2026, co-led by Lightspeed Venture Partners and Committed Capital ($38.5M total). Investors are betting it can become the neutral ad exchange for chatbots and shopping agents — not just “ads in ChatGPT.”

Unexpected truth: this is a large Series A for a company that did not disclose revenue, spend, or take rates. Named logos and named AI apps are the public proof. Everything else is a thesis.

This page is for people deciding whether Gravity (or this category) is worth another hour. Last verified August 18, 2026. Fact vs our read is labeled below.

Five-minute decision

If you need…Verdict
What happenedFunded. $30.5M Series A, Lightspeed + Committed, Aug 6, 2026.
What Gravity isFull-stack DSP + SSP + exchange for AI chat, plus an agent-to-agent catalog product in test.
Whether it is “big”Unknown. Logos named. Volume, revenue, and customer counts not disclosed.
Whether to diligenceYes, if you underwrite two-sided AI-ad rails. No, if you need disclosed GMV/ARR before a first call.

Investigate further when: you believe independent supply will exist outside OpenAI/Google, and logos imply a path to measurable ROAS.

Wait or pass when: your bar is audited spend, or you think model labs will vertically integrate the exchange.

What happened

FieldDetail
CompanyGravity — ad network for AI (trygravity.ai); founders Zach Oldham, Leo Martinez
Round$30.5M Series A · $38.5M total (implies ~$8M prior; not broken out)
DateAugust 6, 2026 (Business Insider exclusive)
LeadsLightspeed Venture Partners, Committed Capital (no /fund/ page here)
ValuationNot disclosed
StackDSP + SSP + exchange + measurement/creative tools
Named advertisers (press)Best Buy, Target, Vercel, MongoDB — “clients have included,” not a spend table
Named supply (press)ChatGPT text ads; also Codebuff, EcoGPT, Daimon, Magneta, Runable, CTO.new

What Gravity actually does

Demand: brands buy text ads inside assistants at the moment of commercial intent.

Supply: AI app builders monetize conversations. Gravity’s site describes matching, rendering, tracking, and publisher payouts.

Job: make chatbot inventory buyable and measurable the way open-web ads are. Next product: feed catalogs and promotions to shopping agents so software, not a human, sees the offer.

That second product is in test. Direct agent checkout is a plan, not a live P&L line.

How big is Gravity actually?

QuestionDisclosed?What we have
Revenue / ARRNoNot in Series A coverage we used
Media spend / GMVNoNot disclosed
Advertiser countNoFour named brands; “have included”
AI publisher countNoChatGPT plus six named smaller apps
Impressions / conversationsNoNot disclosed
Customers vs pilotsUnclearLogos ≠ current run-rate
ValuationNoRound size only

Revenue and transaction volume were not disclosed. That is the most useful number on this page besides the round itself.

Business Insider also calls Gravity “a small player in a big market.” Treat that as reporter framing, not a metric.

Why now (category, not Gravity’s P&L)

  • ChatGPT ads moved from experiment toward a real channel. TNW: ads from February 2026; ~$100M annualized ad revenue within two months — that is OpenAI, not Gravity.
  • OpenAI shifted toward CPC (April coverage) and named adtech partners (Adobe, StackAdapt, Criteo). Gravity is not on that partner list in the same stories. It still claims ChatGPT as supply.
  • WPP Media: marketers could spend ~$100B on generative-AI search ads by 2030. The Information: OpenAI forecast $100B of its own ads by 2030. Both are TAM slides, not Gravity revenue.
  • Koah’s $20.5M Series A (Feb 24, 2026) showed VCs will fund this category more than once.

Why this check size now (interpretation): Lightspeed is paying for category position while inventory is still forming — not for a disclosed $X ARR multiple.

Why investors likely wrote $30.5M

Lightspeed did not publish a thesis note. Split evidence from our read.

Known evidence

  • Full stack on both sides (Oldham to BI: owning buyer + seller; “network gets smarter”).
  • Named enterprise advertisers in press (retail + developer tools).
  • Multi-app supply, including ChatGPT, not only a single indie chatbot.
  • A second product (agent catalogs) that maps to commerce, not only display.
  • Lightspeed’s pattern: consumer, media, marketplaces — see Lightspeed and the $9B+ funds note.

Our interpretation (not a Lightspeed memo)

BetWhy it would justify a large Series A
Emerging inventoryChat is a new high-intent surface; first independent exchange can set the rails
Neutral layerOpenAI will sell its inventory; someone still has to connect other apps
Two-sided effectsDSP + SSP + exchange is a liquidity business if both sides scale
MeasurementWhoever makes chatbot ROAS believable owns the budget meeting
Logos as a wedgeBest Buy / Target-class names help recruit the next brand — if they are live spenders
Agent commerceCatalogs + later payments is a second market if shopping agents stick

What we cannot claim: that those logos spend material dollars, that the exchange is already liquid, or that take rates work.

How the business model probably works

Disclosed: Gravity sells a DSP, an SSP, an exchange, and tools. The site talks about payouts to AI platforms.

Not disclosed: % of media, SaaS seats, demand-side vs supply-side fees, or agent-commerce CPC/CPA/rev-share.

SurfaceConventional analog (inference)
Chat text adsAd network: cut of spend; publishers get a share
DSP for brandsCould be take-rate, platform fee, or both
Agent-to-agentCould be CPC, CPA, or rev-share on completed buys — unannounced

If you diligence this, ask for net revenue vs GMV, take rate by side, and concentration (top advertiser, top publisher).

What has to be true for Gravity to win

  1. Assistants allow third-party ads, not only in-house sold inventory.
  2. Gravity gets enough independent supply that ChatGPT is not the whole book.
  3. Brands see measurable ROAS, not just “we showed up in ChatGPT.”
  4. OpenAI / Google / Anthropic do not fully verticalize the exchange.
  5. Gravity becomes the neutral layer across assistants, not a ChatGPT reseller.
  6. Agent commerce becomes material — or chatbot ads alone still pay for the company.

What could break the thesis

  • Supply lock-in. OpenAI (or Google) keeps the best inventory and treats independents as overflow.
  • No measurement. CMOs stay on Meta/Google because chatbot ROAS is still a story.
  • Logo theater. Named brands were tests, not repeat spend.
  • Take-rate squeeze. Full stack sounds powerful until both sides demand better economics.
  • Brand safety. Conversational ads misfire; retail CFOs pull budget.
  • Agent commerce stays demo. Catalog feeds never become checkout.

Gravity vs Koah — what differs

Koah is the closest funded peer in public coverage. Theory Ventures has no /fund/ page here.

GravityKoah
Latest round$30.5M Series A, Aug 6, 2026$20.5M Series A, Feb 24, 2026
Total funding$38.5M>$26M (incl. $5M seed, Sep 2025)
LeadLightspeed + Committed CapitalTheory Ventures (Tomasz Tunguz to board)
Product pitchDSP + SSP + exchange + agent-to-agent testAdSense for AI” — SDK, native in-chat ads
Primary buyerBrands (DSP) and AI apps (SSP)AI app developers first; advertisers on the other side
Named AI appsChatGPT, Codebuff, EcoGPT, others (press)Liner, Sup AI, Viro (Koah launch note)
Traction disclosedLogos only for GravityKoah company: >170M queries and 35M native ads over 12 months — not audited here
DifferentiationFull-stack + agent catalogsAdSense analog; AdSense-alum board seat
Business modelNot disclosed (payouts implied)Not disclosed (publisher monetization implied)
Main riskChatGPT concentration; lab vertical integrationSame category risk; smaller round; Google-pattern competitor

Gravity vs OpenAI: OpenAI owns ChatGPT inventory and is building an ad platform with named partners. Gravity buys/sells across apps and claims ChatGPT as one surface. Choose Gravity when you need multi-app neutrality. Choose OpenAI when you only need the largest assistant.

Gravity vs The Trade Desk: TTD is the independent DSP for web/app TV. Gravity is new-surface rails. Same “independent exchange” instinct; different inventory.

What this means for you

Investors — is Gravity worth a first call?

Only if your next hour can get numbers the press omitted: spend, retention, supply concentration, take rate. The round says Lightspeed will underwrite category + network shape without a public ARR. Diligence questions:

  • What % of impressions / revenue is ChatGPT vs other apps?
  • Are Best Buy / Target live IO spenders this quarter?
  • Gross vs net revenue. Take rate on each side.
  • Fill rate and latency vs OpenAI’s own stack.
  • Who can turn Gravity off (platform terms)?

Founders — what does $30.5M signal?

Capital is going to infrastructure around AI interfaces, not another wrapper. What probably helped (our read, not a Lightspeed checklist):

  • A two-sided product, not “we insert one ad unit.”
  • Brand names a partner can repeat in IC — even without disclosed dollars.
  • A 2026 timing story: ChatGPT ads are live; TAM slides exist.
  • An optionality product (agents) that makes the round feel like more than banners.

Still open if you are building adjacent:

  • Independent measurement / brand safety for chat (Gravity claims tools; category is immature).
  • Supply that is not ChatGPT — vertical agents, IDE assistants, shopping agents.
  • Creative and format systems for conversation (Koah is also racing this).
  • Agent checkout (Gravity says it plans payments; that layer may be Stripe/Shopify, not the ad network).

What you likely need to raise a similar Series A: live publishers and paying demand, even if small; a measurement story; a reason you are not a feature on OpenAI’s partner list. A $100B-by-2030 slide is not enough. Gravity did not show public ARR either — so relationships + category timing still clear checks. Do not copy that as a strategy if you lack Lightspeed-shaped distribution.

Operators / adtech — is Gravity a threat?

  • Yes if you sell in-chat monetization to indie AI apps and Gravity wins exclusive SSP deals.
  • Not yet if you are TTD/Google/Meta on core channels.
  • Watch OpenAI more than Gravity for ChatGPT-only budget. Gravity’s strategy is own the rails across apps. That only works if apps stay independent.

Defensibility (interpretation): data from both sides of the auction, if volume exists. Dependency: platform policy at OpenAI and peers. Margins: unknown; ad exchanges can be fat or thin depending on take rate and traffic quality.

When not to use this round as a signal

  • Do not treat $30.5M as proof of product-market fit. It is proof of investor appetite.
  • Do not treat WPP $100B / OpenAI $100B as Gravity’s TAM capture.
  • Do not staff a chatbot-ads team because four logos appeared in a fundraise story.
  • Do not assume Committed Capital or Theory Ventures have directory pages here.

Month context: Aug 6–7 VC news. Lightspeed: fund profile.

Sources

  1. Business Insider (Aug 6, 2026): https://www.businessinsider.com/ai-chatbot-ad-platform-gravity-raises-series-a-2026-8
  2. The Next Web: https://thenextweb.com/news/gravity-ai-ads-30-5m-series-a-agent-to-agent
  3. Gravity product site: https://www.trygravity.ai/
  4. Koah Series A (Feb 24, 2026): https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/koah-raises-20-5m-series-a-led-by-theory-ventures-to-scale-ai-native-monetization-302695002.html
  5. Koah launch note (company traction claims): https://www.koahlabs.com/blog/theory-ventures-partnership
  6. Investor: /fund/lightspeed-venture-partners-nyc

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. Business Insider — Gravity $30.5M Series A (Aug 6, 2026)
  2. The Next Web — Gravity agent-to-agent ads
  3. Gravity — product site
  4. Koah — $20.5M Series A (Feb 24, 2026)
Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

August 2026 VC News: What Closed Through the 31st?

Through August 31: Adaptyv $40M Series A (Highland Europe; no valuation), Clerky agreed to join Stripe (no price), Standard Metrics $20M Series B (8VC; no valuation), plus HubX up to $75M at $1.2B pre, Owner $2.3B, a16z $1.1B Machine Age, OpenAI–Cursor wind-down, AusperBio $120M Series C, and YC’s apply page on Winter 2027. Town and General Intuition remain talks.

Mistral Closed €3B Series D at €21B+ — Samsung Led; June €20B Was Talks

Mistral announced a €3 billion (~$3.5B) Series D on September 8, 2026 at a post-money of more than €21 billion. Samsung Electronics led. Scaleup Europe Fund (EQT) and PSG Equity co-led. June Bloomberg/TechCrunch copy was talks at about €20 billion. ARR was not in the company post. Samsung’s cheque size was not disclosed.