Startup profile · funding coverage
Synctera funding, valuation and investors
Banking-as-a-service infrastructure combining accounts, cards and payments with bank-partner oversight, reconciliation and automated compliance testing.
Verified company research · funding, investors and latest developments
Keep track of Synctera
Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.
Funding, valuation & investors
Answer-first snapshotLatest funding
New financing (stage/instrument undisclosed)
$24.5M · November 6, 2026
Latest known valuation
Not publicly disclosed
Total disclosed equity funding
$91M
Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.
Current status
private
growth · San Francisco, California, United States
Investors in latest funding
Other: Multiplier Capital , Fin Capital , 1st & Main Growth Partners , Diagram , NAventures
Overview
Synctera is a San Francisco-based embedded finance and banking-as-a-service software provider founded in 2020. Fintechs and other software companies use its APIs, bank-partner network, ledger and operations controls to launch U.S. accounts, cards, ACH and payments, while licensed sponsor banks retain responsibility for their programs.
The company announced $24.5M of new financing on November 6, 2026 with Multiplier Capital, Fin Capital, 1st & Main Growth Partners, Diagram and NAventures participating, bringing company-reported lifetime funding to $126.7M; no stage, valuation or new-money instrument was specified. It acquired compliance-testing platform Cable in April 2026.
Why Synctera is interesting
Synctera disclosed $24.5M of new financing on November 6, 2026 and $126.7M company-reported cumulative funding, without naming a round stage or valuation. Its commercial distinction is an independent ledger, multi-bank distribution and Cable continuous compliance testing; its upcoming Synctera Labs package publishes unusually concrete banking-platform pricing and limits.
Product & use cases
A representative, illustrative U.S. vertical-software buyer first chooses an eligible account/card/ACH program and obtains sponsor-bank approval, then integrates Synctera APIs and webhooks to create customers and accounts, perform KYC/KYB, issue debit cards and move funds. Synctera's ledger reconciles transactions and Cable independently tests compliance controls; the buyer and sponsor bank monitor exceptions and program limits. Consumers hold accounts through licensed partner banks, not a Synctera bank charter. Standard Synctera Labs has a $60K/year prepaid platform fee, $10K prefunded fraud reserve, usage fees (examples: $1.50/account/month, $3.20/KYC decision and $0.35/standard ACH origination) and restricted program capacity. Synctera Labs' first programs are EXPECTED February 2027, not currently proven operating deployments.
- Vertical SaaS/marketplace embeds business accounts, debit cards, ACH payouts and reconciled sub-ledger into software.
- Consumer fintech launches bank accounts and card issuance with partner-bank regulatory oversight and KYC/AML monitoring.
- Sponsor bank monitors multiple fintech partners with independent reconciliation and Cable continuous control-testing.
- Synctera Labs exploratory product: standard configuration for up to 1,000 consumers or 100 businesses, subject to bank approval; first launches scheduled for February 2027.
Key facts
- November 6, 2026: $24.5M new financing; $126.7M cumulative company-reported funding. New money's stage, instrument and valuation were not disclosed.
- Eight active sponsor banks announced, with two additional banks still implementing; signed customers are not necessarily live programs.
- 20 new fintech clients signed in 2026, according to the company; doubled GMV and interchange are activity metrics, not net revenue.
- Cable compliance-testing platform acquired April 14, 2026; tests KYC, AML and transaction controls continuously rather than relying solely on periodic samples.
- Synctera Labs published at $60K/year prepaid plus a $10K prefunded fraud-loss reserve and usage fees. The reserve's refundability is not established by public terms. Initial programs planned for February 2027, not yet live.
Funding history (newest first)
New financing (stage/instrument undisclosed)
2026-11-06 $24.5M- Multiplier Capital (participant)
- Fin Capital (participant)
- 1st & Main Growth Partners (participant)
- Diagram (participant)
- NAventures (participant)
Source: Read source · synctera.com
Series A extension
2025-03-11 $15M- Fin Capital (lead)
- Diagram Ventures (lead)
Source: Read source · synctera.com
Series A-1 extension
2024-03-04 $18.6M- Lightspeed Venture Partners (lead)
- Fin Capital (lead)
Source: Read source · synctera.com
Series A
2021-06-02 $33M- Fin VC (lead)
- Lightspeed Venture Partners (participant)
- Diagram Ventures (participant)
Source: Read source · synctera.com
Competitive landscape
Edge: Synctera sells banking operations and risk-control infrastructure as well as APIs: its independent ledger, automated reconciliation, multi-bank model and acquired Cable continuous testing provide separate compliance visibility. These are product claims; no independently audited reliability or efficacy superiority is established.
Buyer diligence should cover which licensed institution owns the customer relationship, contract term and migration rights, safeguarding/reconciliation, KYC and AML obligations, fraud reserves, ACH/card transaction unit costs and regulatory program limits. Synctera Labs' published $60K platform fee is lower than its stated $120K-$240K regular-program range but comes with higher usage pricing, restricted operations and about half the interchange share instead of from 70% under regular programs; both are vendor figures and subject to terms. The upfront amount of $70K (platform and reserve) is illustrative and excludes KYC, transactions, losses, optional consulting and ongoing usage.
-
Unit direct
Embedded finance API/provider; compare sponsor-bank coverage, contract economics, ledger ownership and program controls.
-
Treasury Prime direct
Bank-connected embedded-finance platform; compare bank network, payment scope and compliance operating model.
-
Increase adjacent
Banking/payment APIs and ledger features; evaluate bank relationship, product coverage and accountability.
-
Lithic adjacent
Card issuance and processing; narrower substitution for card-focused rather than full multi-bank account programs.
Notable stories
- Historical funding milestones above are selected disclosed rounds rather than an exhaustive ledger; do not sum them into the company's $126.7M cumulative figure.
- Synctera announced the acquisition of continuous control-testing vendor Cable on April 14, 2026; purchase consideration was not disclosed.
- Main Street Bank joined the active sponsor-bank network in November 2026; first Labs programs planned for February 2027.
Market / IPO context
Editorial / static context — not a live quote.
FAQs about Synctera
Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.
Last updated:
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.