Startup profile for Pulley: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

Pulley funding, valuation and investors

YC W20 cap-table software — company says it will cease operations after December 8, 2026; Carta is the named exclusive migration partner.

Keep track of Pulley

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

YC W20

Amount not disclosed · 2020

Latest known valuation

Not publicly disclosed

Total disclosed equity funding

$50M

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

shutdown

growth · San Francisco, California

Investors in latest funding

Lead: Y Combinator

Sources: latest funding Last verified: 2026-09-16

Overview

Pulley (pulley.com; Prolific Labs Incorporated) is a San Francisco cap-table and equity-management product founded by Yin Wu (YC S11, S13, W20) and Grant Oladipo. Y Combinator lists Winter 2020. On September 15, 2026 the live homepage stated Pulley will cease all operations and services on December 8, 2026 and had entered an exclusive partnership with Carta so existing customers may qualify for assisted migration. Business Insider reported the same day that customers moving to Carta keep current Pulley pricing for the first year and receive credit for unused Pulley subscription amounts, and that Wu wrote on LinkedIn the team would work with Carta to take care of customers. Investor names and the “more than $50 million” raised figure are from Business Insider, attributed to Pulley — not a new Form D we retrieved. Directory funds: Founders Fund, General Catalyst, 8VC. Stripe is a company (/startup/stripe), not a /fund/. Carta is /startup/carta. YC’s public company directory still said Active on September 16; treat that page as stale versus the homepage shutdown notice.

Why Pulley is interesting

September 15, 2026: Pulley’s homepage banner says it will shut down and cease all operations and services on 12/8/26, with an exclusive partnership with Carta for customer migration. Business Insider, citing the company statement and a customer email, said Pulley had raised more than $50 million from Founders Fund, General Catalyst, Stripe, and 8VC, and that Carta will match Pulley pricing for the first year plus credit unused subscription amounts. This is not described as an acquisition of Pulley. Y Combinator’s company page still listed status Active when checked September 16.

Product & use cases

Cap-table management, scenario modeling, equity grants, and token cap tables aimed at founders and finance teams. Service winds down after December 8, 2026 per the company.

  • Early-stage cap table and SAFE modeling
  • Option grants and stakeholder ledgers
  • Migration of records before the December 8, 2026 cutoff

Key facts

  • Company homepage (Sep 15–16, 2026): cease operations on 12/8/26; exclusive Carta partnership
  • Not described as a Carta acquisition of Pulley
  • BI: more than $50M raised; Founders Fund, General Catalyst, Stripe, 8VC
  • YC W20; YC directory still said Active on Sep 16 — stale versus the homepage
  • Carta offer (via BI / customer email): first-year price match + unused-subscription credit

Funding history (newest first)

YC W20

2020
  • Y Combinator (lead)

Source: Https://www.ycombinator.com/companies/pulley

Lifetime disclosed (press)

Undated More than $50M
  • Founders Fund
  • General Catalyst
  • Stripe
  • 8VC

Source: Https://www.businessinsider.com/pulley-shuts-down-carta-helps-transition-customers-2026-9

Investors in our directory

Funds linked from Pulley's profile — open a fund page for stage focus and related deal articles.

Competitive landscape

Edge: The useful fact in September 2026 is the wind-down date and Carta as the named landing pad — not a surviving price war with Carta.

Pulley spent seven years as the founder-priced Carta alternative. The September 15 shutdown notice plus a Carta migration offer is a category consolidation event, not a priced M&A print.

  • Carta direct

    Named exclusive migration partner. Not described as buying Pulley. See /startup/carta.

  • AngelList Stack adjacent

    Another cap-table path. Carta’s March 2026 comparison page already argued founders should not bounce from AngelList to Pulley.

Market / IPO context

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

Related funding articles

Venture Capital Tracker pieces that cover Pulley's financing or category context.

FAQs about Pulley

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

Yes, as a company notice. The Pulley homepage says it will cease all operations and services on December 8, 2026.
Not in the language we have. Pulley called it an exclusive partnership for customer migration. Business Insider did not report a purchase price for Pulley itself.
Yes. Y Combinator lists Winter 2020. Founder Yin Wu is also listed as S11 and S13.
Business Insider, citing the company, said more than $50 million from Founders Fund, General Catalyst, Stripe, and 8VC. Round-by-round amounts and a last valuation were not in that story.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.