Startup profile for Pliant: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

Pliant funding, valuation and investors

Berlin B2B payments infrastructure for commercial cards, expense workflows and permission-controlled AI agents.

Verified company research · funding, investors and latest developments

Keep track of Pliant

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

Series C

$80M; company-reported ARR exceeded $100M; valuation undisclosed · November 4, 2026

Latest known valuation

Not publicly disclosed

Total disclosed equity funding

$120M

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

private

growth · Berlin, Germany

Investors in latest funding

Lead: Seaya Nova , Speedinvest

Other: Illuminate Financial , Motive Partners , Molten Ventures

Sources: latest funding · getpliant.com Last verified: 2026-11-07

Overview

Pliant is a Berlin-based B2B payments company founded in 2020 by Malte Rau and Fabian Terner. It supplies physical and virtual commercial cards, account/FX infrastructure, spend management and white-label Cards-as-a-Service for businesses, banks and platforms. In November 2026 it announced an $80M Series C and company-reported ARR above $100M.

The AI/MCP connector reads spend and suggests controlled actions; agent-initiated money movement and card issuance are not generally exposed today.

Why Pliant is interesting

Pliant announced an $80M Series C on November 4, 2026, led by Seaya Nova and Speedinvest, alongside company-reported ARR above $100M. Its agent integration creates a concrete question: can assistants access regulated spend infrastructure without autonomous payment authority? The vendor currently says AI agents may read and propose actions, but money movement and card issuance still require humans.

Product & use cases

Buyer walkthrough (illustrative, not hands-on testing): (1) A travel operator or bank chooses Pliant commercial cards, payment accounts and spend/FX modules or white-label programme. (2) Admin provisions cards and applies user permissions, budgets, merchant and approval rules. (3) Purchases and booking-level data flow through APIs and partner integrations into transaction and accounting records. (4) Admin enables MCP, each user connects Claude/ChatGPT/Cursor or own agent; agents can search transactions, attach receipts and draft coding changes, subject to confirmation. (5) Employees review actions and approve financial changes. The separate agentic-payment product describes rules for prospective budget-scoped payments, but the current general AI FAQ says money movement and card issuing are not yet exposed to AI; distinguish roadmap/product design from live autonomous use. Published prices are custom/quote-based for core tiers; Pliant says AI early access is currently included free. Sources: https://www.getpliant.com/en/press/80-million-series-c ; https://www.getpliant.com/en/products/ai/pliant-for-agents ; https://www.getpliant.com/en/products/ai ; https://www.getpliant.com/en-gb/pricing

  • Travel agency: issue booking-specific virtual cards and match charges, taxes and invoices through integrated payment records.
  • Bank/fintech: embed white-label commercial card and expense programmes rather than build network issuing and licensing from scratch.
  • Finance operator: MCP-powered assistant reviews transactions, attaches receipts and proposes account coding; human reviews/approves edits and payment actions.
  • US/UK/EEA companies: use supported local partner and card issuing arrangements, checking market-specific eligibility and commercial pricing.

Key facts

  • $80M Series C announced November 4, 2026, led by Seaya Nova and Speedinvest; valuation not disclosed.
  • Company reported more than $100M annual recurring revenue, more than 300 employees and billions in annual payment volume; these are company claims, not independently audited figures.
  • Principal member of Visa and Mastercard; company states commercial-card issuance in 13 currencies across 32 countries, with regulated partners in UK/US.
  • Company AI documentation says agents do not yet autonomously move money or issue cards: users approve financial actions.

Funding history (newest first)

Series C

2026-11-04 $80M; company-reported ARR exceeded $100M; valuation undisclosed
  • Seaya Nova (lead)
  • Speedinvest (lead)
  • Illuminate Financial (participant)
  • Motive Partners (participant)
  • Molten Ventures (participant)

Source: Read source · getpliant.com

Series B

2025-04-28 $40M equity, with reported cumulative financing above $100M at the time
  • Illuminate Financial (lead)
  • Speedinvest (lead)
  • PayPal Ventures (participant)
  • Motive Ventures (participant)

Source: Read source · getpliant.com

Series A additional extension

2024-04-17 More than €18M new capital; cumulative Series A exceeded €50M
  • PayPal Ventures (lead)
  • SBI Investment (participant)
  • Motive Ventures (participant)

Source: Read source · getpliant.com

Series A cumulative milestone

2024-01-16 €33M cumulative total, including 2023 first tranche; not a new €33M financing
  • Molten Ventures (participant)

Source: Read source · getpliant.com

Series A initial

2023-02-17 $28M announced (company also calls it approximately €25M)
  • SBI Investment (lead)

Source: Read source · getpliant.com

Competitive landscape

Edge: Claims an integrated issuing, regulated card/payment/FX stack plus white-label and MCP agent access, with end-user role permissions, confirmation and audit logs. The product's regulatory and geographic scope must be checked by customer jurisdiction; marketing claims are not proof every integration or autonomous payment is live.

No like-for-like public fee comparison was substantiated. Pliant publicly names Light, Standard and Custom tiers without a universal list-price table. Its claimed $100M+ ARR is recurring revenue, while annual payment volume is a separate throughput measure and cannot be valued as sales. Series A was extended over time, so cumulative Series A totals must not be added to individual tranches again. The 2023 €100M credit facility and 2024 €200M expanded refinancing capacity are debt/liquidity infrastructure, not equity funding.

  • Airwallex adjacent

    Global accounts, FX, card issuing and embedded finance are a relevant alternative; compare licensing geography, APIs and spend economics.

  • Ramp adjacent

    US corporate cards, finance automation and expense controls; different infrastructure versus direct-enterprise focus.

  • Brex adjacent

    Corporate cards and spend/travel management, particularly US-focused businesses.

  • Payhawk direct

    European corporate spend, cards and expense approvals; evaluate integration and business-model fit.

Market / IPO context

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

FAQs about Pliant

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

The company announced an $80 million Series C on November 4, 2026, co-led by Seaya Nova and Speedinvest. It did not disclose a valuation.
Pliant reported more than $100 million in annual recurring revenue (ARR). It separately processes billions of dollars in payments annually. Payment throughput is not sales revenue.
According to Pliant's published AI FAQ, current AI tools can review and propose actions with user confirmation, but money movement and card issuance are not yet available autonomously. Its agentic-payments pages describe future/controlled workflows.
No. Pliant's credit/refinancing facility is separate from its Series A equity; later expanded capacity must not be counted as a new venture round.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.