Startup profile for Pacific Fusion: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

Pacific Fusion funding, valuation and investors

Pulsed magnetic inertial fusion company with more than $900M in milestone-based Series A commitments announced in October 2024; working toward net facility energy gain.

Verified company research · funding, investors and latest developments

Keep track of Pacific Fusion

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

Series A (milestone-based capital commitments)

More than $900M committed, subject to milestones; not necessarily cash fully received · October 25, 2024

Latest known valuation

Not disclosed

Series A (milestone-based capital commitments) · October 25, 2024

Total disclosed equity funding

Not publicly disclosed

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

private

growth · Fremont, California, United States

Investors in latest funding

Lead: General Catalyst

Other: Breakthrough Energy Ventures , Lightspeed Venture Partners , Lowercarbon Capital

Sources: latest funding · pacificfusion.com Last verified: 2026-10-29

Overview

Pacific Fusion develops pulsed magnetic inertial fusion technology using modular high-power electrical 'bricks' to generate synchronized pulses that compress fusion fuel. Its founders described more than $900M secured in Series A financing in October 2024, led by General Catalyst and backed by a large investor syndicate.

Bloomberg described the financing as milestone-dependent tranches, meaning the total commitment should not automatically be treated as fully disbursed cash. In 2025 Pacific Fusion and General Atomics announced work on production-scale pulser modules, and in August 2026 the company reported breaking ground on its first-of-a-kind fusion facility in New Mexico. A research facility is not a grid-connected commercial fusion power plant.

Alumni Ventures lists Pacific Fusion in its official 2026 portfolio selection; any specific AV check or payment schedule is undisclosed in the primary company material reviewed.

Why Pacific Fusion is interesting

Pacific Fusion's $900M headline refers to a very large 2024 Series A commitment arranged in milestone-linked tranches—not necessarily $900M already received as cash. The company's research and New Mexico demonstration facility are advancing, but it has not commercially generated fusion electricity. Its private valuation has not been disclosed.

Product & use cases

Modular pulsed-power units deliver extremely high current over short intervals to compress fuel for inertial fusion. The company is seeking net facility gain and a path to power generation rather than operating a nuclear fission reactor.

  • Experimental pulsed-power research for inertial fusion
  • Future fusion-electricity systems if net facility gain and scale-up succeed
  • High-energy-density physics and components for fusion facilities

Key facts

  • Oct 25, 2024: reported >$900M Series A commitments led by General Catalyst, payable in milestone-linked tranches.
  • Apr 24, 2025: General Atomics partnership focused on high-power pulser hardware.
  • Aug 25, 2026: Pacific Fusion reported groundbreaking for a New Mexico demonstration facility.
  • No completed commercial fusion power plant, public ticker or independent valuation identified as of Oct 29, 2026.

Funding history (newest first)

Series A (milestone-based capital commitments)

2024-10-25 More than $900M committed, subject to milestones; not necessarily cash fully received Valuation: Not disclosed
  • General Catalyst (lead)
  • Breakthrough Energy Ventures (participant)
  • Lightspeed Venture Partners (participant)
  • Lowercarbon Capital (participant)

Source: Read source · pacificfusion.com

Investors in our directory

Funds linked from Pacific Fusion's profile — open a fund page for stage focus and related deal articles.

Competitive landscape

Edge: Mass-manufacturable pulsed-power building blocks could reduce system costs, but the key unproven steps are repeatable net facility gain, target economics, component lifetime and energy capture.

Distinguish physics milestones, facility energy gain, net electricity delivered, manufacturing cost and financing committed versus received. An announced demonstration build does not validate commercial economics or any implied valuation.

  • Helion Energy adjacent

    Pulsed fusion approach using a different fusion and energy recovery cycle.

  • Commonwealth Fusion Systems adjacent

    High-field tokamak magnetic-confinement fusion rather than pulsed inertial fusion.

  • Zap Energy adjacent

    Sheared-flow stabilized Z-pinch approach with different engineering tradeoffs.

Industries

Market / IPO context

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

FAQs about Pacific Fusion

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

The founders reported securing more than $900M in a 2024 Series A, while contemporary Bloomberg reporting described milestone-based tranches. The headline commitment should not automatically be counted as fully disbursed cash.
No commercial grid-supplied fusion electricity was established by the 2026 New Mexico facility announcement. The company is developing its research and demonstration system.
The company did not disclose a private valuation with the October 2024 Series A announcement.
Alumni Ventures explicitly includes Pacific Fusion in its 2026 APEX portfolio. The size and round date of AV's individual investment are not established by that listing.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.