Startup profile for Maxwell Power: latest funding, latest known valuation, total disclosed funding, investors, status, sources, and why the company is interesting. Part of the Venture Capital Tracker startup directory.

Startup profile · funding coverage

Maxwell Power funding, valuation and investors

Distributed-energy finance platform that acquires battery-storage and solar projects from installers.

Keep track of Maxwell Power

Save this profile to your VCT watchlist for a quick return.

View watchlist

Funding, valuation & investors

Answer-first snapshot

Latest funding

Not publicly disclosed

Latest known valuation

Not publicly disclosed

Total disclosed equity funding

Not publicly disclosed

Excludes debt, grants, acquisitions, secondaries, and IPO proceeds.

Current status

private

growth · Salt Lake City, Utah

Source links not recorded Last verified: 2026-10-05T07:15:00Z

Overview

Maxwell Power, formerly HDM Renewable Finance, provides project capital to residential and commercial battery-storage and solar installers. Its model is designed to let installers transfer completed or contracted projects to long-duration capital rather than finance those assets on their own balance sheets.

Why Maxwell Power is interesting

Fairtide Partners committed $800 million to purchase battery-storage and solar projects from Maxwell Power, taking the investor's cumulative commitments to $1.8 billion. The scale is material, but the transaction is infrastructure project capital—not an $800 million venture-equity round—and should be analyzed through deployment pace, underwriting discipline and asset performance.

Product & use cases

A project-acquisition and financing platform for distributed battery storage and solar assets, supporting installers with capital, underwriting and asset ownership.

  • Purchase of residential battery-storage projects.
  • Purchase of distributed solar projects.
  • Balance-sheet relief and working capital for installers.

Key facts

  • Closed an $800 million project-purchase commitment from Fairtide Partners.
  • Fairtide's cumulative commitments to Maxwell total $1.8 billion across 2024 and 2026.
  • The company says it has invested more than $1.5 billion since 2018.

Funding history (newest first)

Investors in our directory

Funds linked from Maxwell Power's profile — open a fund page for stage focus and related deal articles.

Competitive landscape

Edge: Large, repeat commitments from a long-duration capital partner allow installers to monetize projects without carrying the full asset base.

Maxwell operates between distributed-energy installers and institutional capital. It competes with residential solar and storage financiers such as GoodLeap and Mosaic and with integrated operators such as Sunrun and Sunnova. Its differentiator is committed acquisition capital for projects originated by third-party installers; execution depends on credit quality, installation performance, equipment reliability and access to tax and power-market economics.

  • GoodLeap adjacent

    Provides consumer and contractor financing for home-efficiency and distributed-energy projects.

  • Mosaic adjacent

    Home solar and energy-efficiency lending platform.

  • Sunrun incumbent

    Integrated residential solar and storage developer, financier and asset owner.

  • Sunnova incumbent

    Residential energy-services and distributed-generation financing platform.

Industries

Market / IPO context

Editorial / static context — not a live quote.

Related funding articles

Venture Capital Tracker pieces that cover Maxwell Power's financing or category context.

FAQs about Maxwell Power

Practical answers founders, operators, and investors typically search for.

No. Fairtide Partners committed $800 million to purchase battery-storage and solar projects. It is project-acquisition capital, not a conventional venture-equity round.
The companies say Fairtide's cumulative commitments total $1.8 billion, including $250 million in 2024, $750 million in June 2026 and $800 million in October 2026.
Maxwell Power was previously known as HDM Renewable Finance and rebranded in 2026.
The company finances and acquires distributed battery-storage and solar projects originated by installers.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.