· Venture Capital Tracker · venture-capital
USD.AI Arranges $128.9M GPU Facility for Unnamed Operator
USD.AI announced a $128.9M asset-backed facility for an unnamed public GPU-cloud operator. It is borrower debt—not equity raised by USD.AI.
USD.AI announced a $128.9 million asset-backed GPU financing facility for an unnamed publicly listed cloud operator on September 23, 2026. The financing supports 32 NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 systems in British Columbia.
The transaction is debt for USD.AI's borrower—not venture funding raised by USD.AI. That distinction matters because several summaries describe the protocol as having "secured" or "raised" the full amount.
The $128.9M facility finances GPU infrastructure
USD.AI said the borrower operates large NVIDIA clusters for enterprise customers across North America, South America and Europe. It did not identify the company.
The financed systems are covered by a multiyear agreement with what USD.AI called a blue-chip, investment-grade counterparty. That contracted demand should be central to the underwriting because the GPUs and their associated cash flows secure the loan.
USD.AI describes its standard facilities as non-recourse at the corporate level: the lender's claim is primarily against the financed hardware and related project assets rather than the operator's wider balance sheet. The company says that structure lets AI-cloud operators add capacity without selling equity.
The announcement does not identify the capital providers behind this specific facility.
What USD.AI did not disclose
The headline amount is precise, but several terms required to assess the financing remain private:
- the borrower's identity;
- interest rate, fees and maturity;
- loan-to-value ratio and borrower equity contribution;
- the investment-grade customer;
- disbursement schedule and installation milestones; and
- residual-value guarantees or other credit support.
USD.AI called the transaction a financing facility and its largest loan originated to date. Its announcement did not explicitly say that the entire $128.9 million had already been drawn. VCT therefore classifies it as an announced asset-backed debt facility, not a completed venture round or $128.9 million of equity funding.
GPU-backed credit is becoming an AI-infrastructure funding layer
High-end accelerator systems require large upfront payments, while customer revenue arrives over multiyear contracts. That mismatch has created demand for asset-backed financing outside conventional venture capital.
USD.AI uses onchain funding infrastructure to connect capital providers with loans secured by GPU equipment. The company says the new facility surpasses a $98.1 million transaction announced in June 2026 for a deployment involving 2,304 NVIDIA B300 GPUs.
The comparison shows the platform moving toward larger institutional transactions, but it does not establish loan performance. Investors still need disclosure about utilization, collateral depreciation, customer concentration, covenant protection and what happens if the operator or its customer defaults.
New generations of AI chips can also reduce the resale value of older hardware. A multiyear customer contract may make revenue more predictable, but it does not eliminate technological-obsolescence or enforcement risk.
How the financing fits USD.AI's business
USD.AI was developed by New York-based Permian Labs. The company raised a $13 million Series A in August 2025 led by Framework Ventures, with Dragonfly, Arbitrum, Big Brain Holdings, CMT Digital, Hermeneutic Investments, FWL Capital and Flowdesk participating.
That equity round funded the platform. The new $128.9 million facility instead finances equipment for a separate borrower.
USD.AI has also raised facilities at the protocol level, including a $100 million commitment from Bullish and a $40 million revolving facility from K3 Capital. Those capital commitments should not be added to the $128.9 million borrower transaction and described as one fundraising round.
What to watch next
The most consequential missing fact is the borrower's identity. Naming the operator would allow investors to compare the facility with its public balance sheet, planned GPU deployments and customer commitments.
Other useful disclosures would include whether the systems have been delivered, how much of the facility has been drawn, the maturity and coupon, and whether an independent filing confirms the collateral structure.
Until those details appear, the defensible conclusion is narrow: USD.AI has announced its largest originated GPU facility, backed by 32 NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 systems and contracted demand, but the transaction remains materially less transparent than public-company infrastructure debt.
Frequently asked questions
Did USD.AI raise $128.9 million?
No. USD.AI announced a $128.9 million asset-backed facility for an undisclosed borrower. It is borrower-level GPU debt, not an equity round for USD.AI.
Who received the financing?
USD.AI described the borrower as a publicly listed GPU-cloud operator serving enterprise customers across several continents but did not disclose its name.
What will the facility finance?
It supports 32 NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 systems planned for deployment in British Columbia, Canada.
Is the full $128.9 million already funded?
The announcement did not disclose how much had been drawn or provide a disbursement schedule. It should be described as an announced facility unless later filings confirm deployment and funding.
Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google
Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.