· Venture Capital Tracker · investment-strategies · 3 min read
Harvey’s $550M Print Is $15.5B Company, $15.6B Bloomberg — Blog Omits ARR
Harvey announced $550 million at a $15.5 billion valuation on September 9, 2026, co-led by Diffusion and Lightspeed. Bloomberg printed $15.6 billion. The company blog and Reuters did not name a series letter or print ARR. LawSites attributed $400 million ARR to a Weinberg LinkedIn post we did not retrieve. Same day: Guardrails AI, price undisclosed, Harvey’s fourth 2026 acquisition.
VCT data record
Funding event facts
Source-backed financing and transaction details. Unknown terms remain undisclosed rather than estimated.
Harvey raises $550M at $15.5B
Company post. Co-led by Diffusion and Lightspeed. Bloomberg printed $15.6B. Series letter not disclosed. Company blog and Reuters omit ARR. LawSites attributed $400M ARR to a Weinberg LinkedIn post not retrieved here.
- Event type
- Funding Round
- Event date
- Sep 9, 2026
- Stage / label
- Growth
- Amount
- $550M
- Valuation
- $15.5B (company)
- Confidence
- Company Disclosed
Company / target: Harvey
Lead: Diffusion , Lightspeed Venture Partners
Participants: Sequoia Capital , Andreessen Horowitz , Kleiner Perkins , Coatue
Sources: harvey.ai reuters.com
Harvey acquires Guardrails AI
Company post. Price undisclosed. Fourth Harvey acquisition of 2026.
- Event type
- Acquisition
- Event date
- Sep 9, 2026
- Confidence
- Company Disclosed
Company / target: Guardrails AI
Sources: harvey.ai
Harvey announced $550 million at a $15.5 billion valuation on September 9, 2026. Diffusion and Lightspeed Venture Partners co-led. Reuters used the company figure. Bloomberg printed $15.6 billion. The company post did not name a series letter and did not print ARR. LawSites attributed $400 million ARR to a Weinberg LinkedIn post we did not retrieve. Last verified September 10, 2026.
The number that will get copied wrong is treating this as still a $3 billion Series D company. That print is February 12, 2025. This is $15.5 billion, 18 months later.
Five-minute decision
| If you need… | Verdict |
|---|---|
| What happened | Funded. $550M, Sep 9. Diffusion + Lightspeed co-led. |
| Valuation | $15.5B company. $15.6B Bloomberg. Use company. |
| Series letter | Not disclosed. Do not invent Series G. |
| Traction | Company blog: 80% of Am Law 100; five of Fortune 10 in-house. No ARR on the blog or Reuters. LawSites (LinkedIn attribution, not retrieved): $400M ARR; 3,000+ customers. |
| Same-day M&A | Guardrails AI. Price unknown. Fourth 2026 deal. |
| Whether to diligence | Yes, if you underwrite legal-agent attach at Am Law. No, if you need a current ARR stock. |
Investigate further when: you can live with a professional-services AI whose mark moved from $11 billion (March 25) to $15.5 billion in under six months without a fresh revenue print.
Wait or pass when: you need ARR, a named series, or Lightspeed’s cheque size.
What closed
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | Harvey (harvey.ai); San Francisco; Winston Weinberg, Gabe Pereyra |
| Round | $550M, unnamed stage, Sep 9, 2026 |
| Mark | $15.5B company / Reuters. $15.6B Bloomberg |
| Co-leads | Diffusion (new; Kris Fredrickson / ex-Coatue per Bloomberg). Lightspeed (new). No /fund/lightspeed or /fund/diffusion |
| Returning | Sequoia, Kleiner Perkins, a16z, Coatue, Conviction, Elad Gil, Evantic, GIC, Goldman Sachs Alternatives, Verified Capital, WNDR |
| Other new | Sapphire Ventures, Whale Rock |
| Prior company prints | $200M / $11B, Mar 25, 2026 (GIC + Sequoia). $160M / $8B, Dec 4, 2025 (a16z; tender included). $300M / $5B Series E, June 2025 (TechCrunch recap). $300M / $3B Series D, Feb 12, 2025 (Sequoia) |
| March total | Company, Mar 25: more than $1 billion lifetime. Do not invent a September sum on top of tenders and the EQT print |
| Use of proceeds | “Build and own their intelligence at scale” — company. Open-weight post-trained model and Harvey LAB named, not sized |
$11B → $15.5B — blog still omits ARR
March 25 Harvey said more than 100,000 lawyers across 1,300 organizations, majority of the Am Law 100, and more than $1 billion raised. September 9 swapped that for 80% of Am Law 100 and five of the Fortune 10. Those are penetration claims. They are not revenue.
July 16, on the Benchmark post, Harvey said more than $100 million of net-new ARR in Q2. That is a quarterly add, not September ARR. The $550 million company post left the stock blank. Reuters also omitted ARR.
LawSites (Bob Ambrogi, September 9) wrote that Weinberg said on LinkedIn the company had crossed $400 million ARR, more than 3,000 customers, 20% of the Fortune 500, and half of the Fortune 10. We did not retrieve that LinkedIn post. Treat $400 million as a secondary attribution, not a Harvey company-release figure. LawSites also called lifetime capital “north of $1.5 billion” — journalist math, not a company sum. Do not add it to the March “more than $1 billion” print.
Guardrails is not a priced deal
Same day, Harvey acquired Guardrails AI. Price undisclosed. Harvey called it the fourth acquisition of 2026 (after Hexus, Lume, Benchmark). Guardrails: open-source agent guardrails, 250,000 downloads a month (company), Snowglobe simulation. Investors named: Zetta, Bloomberg Beta, Pear, Factory, Microsoft — no dollars. Treat it as talent plus runtime, not as a second $550 million.
Related: Harvey profile · a16z Harvey note · NYC legal tech map · September 9–10 index · September hub.
Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google
Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.
Last updated:
Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.