· Venture Capital Tracker Editorial · investment-strategies

Fortaegis $50M Series A: Secure Silicon, 2027 Manufacturing

Amsterdam’s Fortaegis raised a $50 million Series A led by Serendipity Capital, with Tokyo Electron’s venture arm in. Valuation was not disclosed. Commercial manufacturing is aimed at 2027. Quantum-safe and 200× speed claims are company/FT-attributed, not independent benchmarks.

Fortaegis $50M Series A: Secure Silicon, 2027 Manufacturing

Fortaegis raised $50 million Series A on September 14, 2026, led by Singapore’s Serendipity Capital, with TEL Venture Capital (Tokyo Electron) in. Valuation was not disclosed. The Amsterdam company, founded October 2023 by Boudewijn Wijnands, wants commercial manufacturing in 2027. Sources: The Quantum Insider (company announcement + FT), FT.

A hardware-rooted identity company is raising production capital two years before the manufacturing date it printed — so the diligence job is independent evaluation and foundry economics, not the “quantum-safe” label.

Key facts

FieldDetail
CompanyFortaegis (fortaegis.com) — secure-compute silicon
Round$50M Series A · Sep 14, 2026 · oversubscribed (company)
LeadSerendipity Capital. **
Also inTEL VC, TNO, NP-Hard, NovaCapital, Access Ventures, Coalition Capital, Prodrive
Valuation / ARRNot disclosed
Manufacturing2027 (FT via Quantum Insider)
Named peopleChair Ilyas Khan (Quantinuum); U.S. board Chris Miller (_Chip War_)

Who uses it — and for what job

Users: governments and operators of AI clusters, defense networks, satellites, telecom, and autonomous machines. Wijnands told the FT the company is working with governments in the U.S., U.K., Japan, Singapore, Germany, France, and the Netherlands. Company: more than 25 companies and governments.

Job: derive changing encryption keys from physical variation in silicon so identity sits in the chip rather than in stored secrets. FPGA products first; ASICs later (company).

Treat “25+ counterparties” as a pipeline claim, not a named-logo customer list. Treat 17 patents filed / 14 in preparation as a company count.

Why now

  • AI agents and drone swarms create machine-to-machine trust problems that stored-key PKI handles poorly at latency.
  • NIST is pushing PQC migration on a 2035 clock. Fortaegis is selling a proprietary silicon layer, not ML-KEM.
  • TNO says it tested the architecture with aggressive hacking and could not penetrate the integrated system (FT via Quantum Insider) — that is one lab, not a public certification.

What is not proven

  • Valuation, ownership, and lifetime capital (Serendipity seeded October 2023; TEL VC invested 2025 — this page does not add those into a $50M total).
  • 200× faster than current internet crypto protocols — company/FT-attributed test claim. Protocol, message size, and baseline were not published here.
  • ASML: a Dutch research project with TU/e (€1.07 million, July 2026–January 2030) is validation, not a TwinScan product win.
  • TSMC foundry + Prodrive assembly (earlier reporting via Tower Post) — not in the September 14 company quotes we retrieved.

Practical takeaway

  • Founders (deep-tech hardware): A $50M Series A that still points two years out is a manufacturing round. Print the foundry plan.
  • Investors: Diligence TNO’s unpublished methods and whether “quantum-safe” survives a standards review.
  • Operators: Relevant if you already run classified or OT networks and need hardware identity — not if you need a NIST PQC drop-in.

Sources

  1. The Quantum Insider
  2. Financial Times
  3. Fortaegis

Follow Venture Capital Tracker in Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to make our venture-capital coverage easier to find in Google Search.

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about this topic

Sources

  1. The Quantum Insider — Fortaegis $50M Series A (Sep 14, 2026)
  2. Financial Times — Dutch start-up encrypted chips (SERP URL)
  3. Fortaegis

Research the entities in this story

Persistent profiles connect this article to the companies and investors it discusses.

Back to Blog

Recommended next

Browse all research »

September 2026 VC News: Tabby $6.5B, May $1.4B SPAC, Manus $4B Talks

Through September 19: Tabby announced $233 million at $6.5 billion (SAMA still pending). May Mobility agreed a $1.4 billion EV SPAC — not a raise. Manus is in talks for $500 million at $4 billion. Motive’s $1.3 billion-plus, Harvey’s $15.5 billion, and Mistral’s €3 billion Series D remain the month’s confirmed megaprints. Nvidia–Hugging Face $12.93 billion is agreed, not closed.

Mistral Closed €3B Series D at €21B+ — Samsung Led; June €20B Was Talks

Mistral announced a €3 billion (~$3.5B) Series D on September 8, 2026 at a post-money of more than €21 billion. Samsung Electronics led. Scaleup Europe Fund (EQT) and PSG Equity co-led. June Bloomberg/TechCrunch copy was talks at about €20 billion. ARR was not in the company post. Samsung’s cheque size was not disclosed.