· Investment Strategies · 2 sources · Updated · Verified

Factory’s $200M at $5B: Coding Agents Triple in Five Months

Factory raised $200 million at a $5 billion valuation on September 15, 2026 — more than tripling its April $1.5 billion mark. Blackstone, Khosla, Sequoia, and Insight backed; no lead named. ARR not disclosed.

By Venture Capital Tracker Editorial

Share
Factory’s $200M at $5B: Coding Agents Triple in Five Months

Factory raised $200 million at a $5 billion valuation on September 15, 2026, more than tripling the $1.5 billion mark from its April 2026 $150 million round. Backers named by the company include Blackstone, Khosla Ventures, Sequoia Capital, Insight Partners, Evantic Capital, Sound Ventures, NEA, Mantis VC, and Clearlake. A lead was not named. Total funding is over $400 million. ARR was not disclosed (company, Reuters).

Five months after a $1.5B print, the same franchise re-priced at $5B on named enterprise logos and “software factory” positioning — without printing revenue.

For a cross-company view of AI coding-agent funding and the financing instruments behind announced rounds, see VCT’s AI startup funding news tracker.

Key facts

Company
Factory (factory.com) — enterprise AI agents / software factories
Financing
$200M at $5B valuation (unnamed stage)
Date
September 15, 2026
Prior
$150M at $1.5B (April 2026)
Total funding
>$400M (company)
Lead
Not named
Named customers (company)
Nvidia, Blackstone, RBC, Palo Alto Networks, Adobe, T-Mobile
ARR / seats
Not disclosed (company says “hundreds of thousands of developers”)

Who uses the product — and for what job

Users: enterprise engineering orgs that need governed, measurable agentic coding — not a consumer chatbot IDE.

Job: run a single controlled “software factory” across the SDLC (cloud, on-prem, or air-gapped) instead of stitching standalone coding agents. Company product claims around the raise: Factory Router (task-level model routing; >60% token-spend cut claim), air-gapped / high-security deployment, and Agent Effectiveness visibility into AI spend ROI.

Named logos (Nvidia, Blackstone, RBC, Palo Alto Networks, Adobe, T-Mobile) are customer claims, not audited seat or ARR evidence. Treat “hundreds of thousands of developers” as a usage claim until economics print.

Why now

  • The 3.3× mark move in five months is the anomaly — capital is racing to own the enterprise control plane for coding agents, not the next chat wrapper.
  • Security and deployment surface (air-gap, regulated customers) is the wedge vs consumer coding tools that cannot sit inside bank/gov constraints.
  • Cognition’s September $48B Series E tape (our note) keeps the category hot; Factory is pricing as ops infrastructure, not a single-agent brand.

Why these funds — portfolio fit

No lead was disclosed, so fit is about who showed up again, not a single thesis memo.

  • Khosla Ventures led or anchored the April round (secondary reporting) and returns here — consistent with high-conviction AI infrastructure bets that reprice fast when enterprise logos land.
  • Sequoia and Insight Partners fit enterprise scale and go-to-market expansion; Insight’s growth DNA matches a “global GTM” use of proceeds.
  • Blackstone as both customer and capital is the tell: the buyer of the product is also underwriting the mark — unusual signal, still not a substitute for ARR.

Do not invent a Series letter or revenue multiple. Do not link Lightspeed NYC, NEA, Evantic, Sound Ventures, Mantis, or Clearlake as /fund/ pages — they are not in our directory.

Competitive map

ApproachTradeoff
Consumer coding copilotsFast individual speed; weak enterprise governance
Point agent toolsStrong demos; fragmented SDLC control
In-house agent stacksFull control; slow to productize
Factory “software factory”Named enterprise logos; no ARR in the raise

What is not proven

  • ARR, NRR, seat price, or gross margin.
  • Which investor led / priced the round.
  • Whether “hundreds of thousands of developers” means MAU, seats, or cumulative signups.
  • Profitability — not disclosed.

Practical takeaway

  • Founders (dev tools): Sell governed deployment + measurable ROI, then raise on logos — Factory still did not print ARR at $5B.
  • Investors: Diligence token economics and air-gap attach; do not treat a 3× mark as proof of 3× revenue.
  • Operators: Relevant if you need one controlled agent platform across regulated SDLC environments.

Follow Venture Capital Tracker on Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to see more of our venture-capital reporting in Google Search.

Add as preferred source

By Venture Capital Tracker

Last updated:

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Related articles

See all

Frequently Asked Questions

Direct answers to common questions about this topic

Sources & references

2 sources

Reporting and documents referenced in this article.

  1. Factory — $200M at $5B announcement
  2. Reuters — Factory triples valuation to $5B
Back to Blog