· Investment Strategies · 1 source

Suniva Raises $835M of Debt and Equity to Quadruple U.S. Solar-Cell Capacity

Suniva completed an $835 million package of senior secured debt, second-lien credit, and equity to build a 4.5 GW South Carolina solar-cell factory; the instrument split was not disclosed.

By Venture Capital Tracker Editorial

Share
Suniva Raises $835M of Debt and Equity to Quadruple U.S. Solar-Cell Capacity

Suniva completed an $835 million financing package comprising senior secured credit, second-lien credit, and equity. The company did not disclose the instrument split, valuation, or ownership issued, so the full amount is neither venture equity nor a conventional round.

Suniva is matching long-lived factory assets with layered capital. The central question is whether contracted demand and U.S. manufacturing incentives support the debt burden while a second factory moves from a completed shell to full production.

Capital stack

LayerProvider
Senior secured facilitiesFunds managed by Goldman Sachs Alternatives and I Squared Capital
Second-lien facilityJBA Asset Management
EquityElectron Capital Partners, Orion Infrastructure Capital, Rubric Capital Management, and others
Existing largest shareholderLion Point Capital
Total package$835M; split undisclosed

Roth Capital Partners acted as lead private-placement agent, J.P. Morgan as sole structuring agent, and Rodman & Renshaw as financial adviser.

What the capital buys

Suniva plans a 4.5 GW high-efficiency monocrystalline silicon solar-cell facility in Laurens County, South Carolina. The company expects it online in late 2027, fully ramped in 2028, and says the building shell is complete. Together with its operating 1 GW Georgia facility, the project would take total capacity to 5.5 GW.

Suniva puts the South Carolina project cost at approximately $600 million and projects 564 jobs. It says long-term offtake agreements cover a majority of planned output; those are company claims, and the release does not disclose counterparties or pricing.

The public-market complication

Suniva separately signed a reverse-merger agreement with Nasdaq-listed SUNation Energy in June 2026. That transaction remains pending. The financing therefore supports a private manufacturer that expects to enter the public market through a merger, not a clean late-stage VC round.

What remains undisclosed

  • Debt/equity allocation, pricing, maturities, covenants, and collateral
  • Equity valuation and dilution
  • Offtake counterparties, volumes, and prices
  • Construction contingency and ramp assumptions
  • Dependence on tariffs and Section 45X manufacturing credits

Takeaway

The headline is $835 million of structured factory capital, not $835 million of venture equity. Suniva has disclosed operating capacity, a completed building shell, and contracted demand claims; investors still need the financing terms and plant economics to judge how de-risked the expansion really is.

Day index: September 11–12 investment news.

Source

  1. Business Wire — Suniva financing announcement

Follow Venture Capital Tracker on Google

Add VCT as a preferred source to see more of our venture-capital reporting in Google Search.

Add as preferred source

By Venture Capital Tracker

Editorial note: AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.

Related articles

See all

Frequently Asked Questions

Direct answers to common questions about this topic

Sources & references

1 source

Reporting and documents referenced in this article.

  1. Business Wire — Suniva financing announcement

Companies and investors in this story

Explore their profiles or save them for later.

View watchlist
Back to Blog