---
title: "Suniva Raises $835M of Debt and Equity to Quadruple U.S. Solar-Cell Capacity"
description: "Suniva completed an $835 million package of senior secured debt, second-lien credit, and equity to build a 4.5 GW South Carolina solar-cell factory; the instrument split was not disclosed."
date: 2026-09-08T00:00:00.000Z
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-suniva-835m-debt-equity-solar-cells
---

# Suniva Raises $835M of Debt and Equity to Quadruple U.S. Solar-Cell Capacity

> Suniva completed an $835 million package of senior secured debt, second-lien credit, and equity to build a 4.5 GW South Carolina solar-cell factory; the instrument split was not disclosed.

**Suniva** completed an **$835 million** financing package comprising **senior secured credit, second-lien credit, and equity**. The company did not disclose the instrument split, valuation, or ownership issued, so the full amount is neither venture equity nor a conventional round.

Suniva is matching long-lived factory assets with layered capital. The central question is whether contracted demand and U.S. manufacturing incentives support the debt burden while a second factory moves from a completed shell to full production.

## Capital stack

| Layer | Provider |
| --- | --- |
| Senior secured facilities | Funds managed by Goldman Sachs Alternatives and I Squared Capital |
| Second-lien facility | JBA Asset Management |
| Equity | Electron Capital Partners, Orion Infrastructure Capital, Rubric Capital Management, and others |
| Existing largest shareholder | Lion Point Capital |
| Total package | **$835M**; split undisclosed |

Roth Capital Partners acted as lead private-placement agent, J.P. Morgan as sole structuring agent, and Rodman & Renshaw as financial adviser.

## What the capital buys

Suniva plans a **4.5 GW** high-efficiency monocrystalline silicon solar-cell facility in Laurens County, South Carolina. The company expects it online in late **2027**, fully ramped in **2028**, and says the building shell is complete. Together with its operating **1 GW** Georgia facility, the project would take total capacity to **5.5 GW**.

Suniva puts the South Carolina project cost at approximately **$600 million** and projects **564 jobs**. It says long-term offtake agreements cover a majority of planned output; those are company claims, and the release does not disclose counterparties or pricing.

## The public-market complication

Suniva separately signed a reverse-merger agreement with Nasdaq-listed SUNation Energy in June 2026. That transaction remains pending. The financing therefore supports a private manufacturer that expects to enter the public market through a merger, not a clean late-stage VC round.

## What remains undisclosed

- Debt/equity allocation, pricing, maturities, covenants, and collateral
- Equity valuation and dilution
- Offtake counterparties, volumes, and prices
- Construction contingency and ramp assumptions
- Dependence on tariffs and Section 45X manufacturing credits

## Takeaway

The headline is **$835 million of structured factory capital**, not $835 million of venture equity. Suniva has disclosed operating capacity, a completed building shell, and contracted demand claims; investors still need the financing terms and plant economics to judge how de-risked the expansion really is.

Day index: [September 11–12 investment news](/2026-september-11-12-investment-news-chips-biotech-fintech).

### Source

1. [Business Wire — Suniva financing announcement](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260908550493/en/Suniva-Completes-%24835-Million-Capital-Raise-to-Build-Second-Major-U.S.-Solar-Cell-Manufacturing-Facility-and-More-Than-Quadruple-Capacity-to-5.5-GW)

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
