---
title: "Light Raises $46M Series A to Make Electricity an Embedded Service"
description: "Matrix led Light’s $46M Series A as the company reported 10x run-rate revenue growth and distribution reaching more than 500,000 homeowners."
date: 2026-09-01T00:00:00.000Z
tags: ["2026-vc-news", "startup-funding", "venture-capital", "climate-tech", "fintech"]
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-light-46m-series-a-embedded-electricity
---

# Light Raises $46M Series A to Make Electricity an Embedded Service

> Matrix led Light’s $46M Series A as the company reported 10x run-rate revenue growth and distribution reaching more than 500,000 homeowners.

Light raised a **$46 million Series A** led by Matrix to sell electricity through homebuilders, property managers and other embedded distribution partners. Activate Capital, [Spark Capital](/fund/spark-capital), Mischief, Gigascale, MCJ and BoxGroup participated.

The company reports **10 times run-rate-revenue growth** and distribution agreements reaching more than **500,000 homeowners** and **one million multifamily units**. Those are different metrics: potential distribution is not the same as active customers or delivered electricity.

## The financing

Light says it has raised roughly **$60 million in equity** in total. Its broader capital base exceeds $100 million when a pre-existing credit facility is included; that debt is not part of the new Series A.

| Field                | Detail                                      |
| -------------------- | ------------------------------------------- |
| New equity           | **$46M Series A**                           |
| Lead                 | Matrix                                      |
| Total equity         | Approximately $60M                          |
| Broader capital base | $100M+ including an earlier credit facility |
| Valuation            | Not disclosed                               |

## Embedded electricity

Light integrates power service into real-estate and consumer workflows, aiming to remove a separate utility-shopping step. Partners can offer electricity at move-in or through property-management systems while Light handles supply and customer operations.

The model pairs software distribution with an operationally and financially complex commodity. Growth can come quickly through channel agreements, but margins depend on acquisition cost, power procurement, churn, market exposure and credit losses.

## What remains unknown

Light did not disclose active accounts, revenue, gross margin, retention, valuation or the terms of its credit facility. “Reach” measures the audience available through partners, not customers converted.

The Series A thesis becomes measurable when Light shows how many eligible households activate service, how long they stay and whether contribution margin remains positive through volatile power prices.

See [Odyssey’s mixed climate-finance package](/2026-odyssey-27m-equity-47m-debt) and the [September 1 roundup](/2026-september-1-vc-news-ai-defense-climate).

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
