---
title: "Fortaegis $50M Series A: Secure Silicon, 2027 Manufacturing"
description: "Amsterdam’s Fortaegis raised a $50 million Series A led by Serendipity Capital, with Tokyo Electron’s venture arm in. Valuation was not disclosed. Commercial manufacturing is aimed at 2027. Quantum-safe and 200× speed claims are company/FT-attributed, not independent benchmarks."
date: 2026-09-14T00:00:00.000Z
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-fortaegis-50m-series-a-serendipity
---

# Fortaegis $50M Series A: Secure Silicon, 2027 Manufacturing

> Amsterdam’s Fortaegis raised a $50 million Series A led by Serendipity Capital, with Tokyo Electron’s venture arm in. Valuation was not disclosed. Commercial manufacturing is aimed at 2027. Quantum-safe and 200× speed claims are company/FT-attributed, not independent benchmarks.

**[Fortaegis](/startup/fortaegis)** raised **$50 million** Series A on **September 14, 2026**, led by Singapore’s **Serendipity Capital**, with **TEL Venture Capital** (Tokyo Electron) in. Valuation was **not disclosed**. The Amsterdam company, founded **October 2023** by Boudewijn Wijnands, wants **commercial manufacturing in 2027**. Sources: [The Quantum Insider](https://thequantuminsider.com/2026/09/14/fortaegis-raises-50-million-to-commercialize-chip-based-security-technology/) (company announcement + FT), [FT](https://www.ft.com/content/a6574d9d-5e75-4b9c-b4d7-b05f7008e48e).

A hardware-rooted identity company is raising production capital **two years before** the manufacturing date it printed — so the diligence job is independent evaluation and foundry economics, not the “quantum-safe” label.

## Key facts

| Field | Detail |
| --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Company | [Fortaegis](/startup/fortaegis) ([fortaegis.com](https://fortaegis.com)) — secure-compute silicon |
| Round | **$50M** Series A · Sep 14, 2026 · **oversubscribed** (company) |
| Lead | Serendipity Capital. **|
| Also in | TEL VC, TNO, NP-Hard, NovaCapital, Access Ventures, Coalition Capital, Prodrive |
| Valuation / ARR | **Not disclosed** |
| Manufacturing | **2027** (FT via Quantum Insider) |
| Named people | Chair **Ilyas Khan** (Quantinuum); U.S. board **Chris Miller** (_Chip War_) |

## Who uses it — and for what job

**Users:** governments and operators of AI clusters, defense networks, satellites, telecom, and autonomous machines. Wijnands told the FT the company is working with governments in the **U.S., U.K., Japan, Singapore, Germany, France, and the Netherlands**. Company: **more than 25** companies and governments.

**Job:** derive changing encryption keys from physical variation in silicon so identity sits in the chip rather than in stored secrets. FPGA products first; ASICs later (company).

Treat “25+ counterparties” as a **pipeline claim**, not a named-logo customer list. Treat **17 patents filed / 14 in preparation** as a company count.

## Why now

- AI agents and drone swarms create machine-to-machine trust problems that stored-key PKI handles poorly at latency.
- NIST is pushing PQC migration on a **2035** clock. Fortaegis is selling a **proprietary silicon layer**, not ML-KEM.
- TNO says it tested the architecture with aggressive hacking and could not penetrate the integrated system (**FT via Quantum Insider**) — that is one lab, not a public certification.

## What is not proven

- Valuation, ownership, and lifetime capital (Serendipity seeded **October 2023**; TEL VC invested **2025** — this page does **not** add those into a $50M total).
- **200× faster** than current internet crypto protocols — company/FT-attributed test claim. Protocol, message size, and baseline were not published here.
- ASML: a Dutch research project with TU/e (**€1.07 million**, July 2026–January 2030) is **validation**, not a TwinScan product win.
- TSMC foundry + Prodrive assembly (earlier reporting via Tower Post) — **not** in the September 14 company quotes we retrieved.

## Practical takeaway

- **Founders (deep-tech hardware):** A $50M Series A that still points two years out is a **manufacturing** round. Print the foundry plan.
- **Investors:** Diligence TNO’s unpublished methods and whether “quantum-safe” survives a standards review.
- **Operators:** Relevant if you already run classified or OT networks and need hardware identity — not if you need a NIST PQC drop-in.

### Sources

1. [The Quantum Insider](https://thequantuminsider.com/2026/09/14/fortaegis-raises-50-million-to-commercialize-chip-based-security-technology/)
2. [Financial Times](https://www.ft.com/content/a6574d9d-5e75-4b9c-b4d7-b05f7008e48e)
3. [Fortaegis](https://fortaegis.com/)

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)
**Last updated:** September 14, 2026

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
