---
title: "Factory’s $200M at $5B: Coding Agents Triple in Five Months"
description: "Factory raised $200 million at a $5 billion valuation on September 15, 2026 — more than tripling its April $1.5 billion mark. Blackstone, Khosla, Sequoia, and Insight backed; no lead named. ARR not disclosed."
date: 2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-factory-200m-5b-khosla-sequoia-coding-agents
---

# Factory’s $200M at $5B: Coding Agents Triple in Five Months

> Factory raised $200 million at a $5 billion valuation on September 15, 2026 — more than tripling its April $1.5 billion mark. Blackstone, Khosla, Sequoia, and Insight backed; no lead named. ARR not disclosed.

**[Factory](/startup/factory)** raised **$200 million** at a **$5 billion** valuation on **September 15, 2026**, more than **tripling** the **$1.5 billion** mark from its **April 2026** **$150 million** round. Backers named by the company include **Blackstone**, **[Khosla Ventures](/fund/khosla-ventures)**, **[Sequoia Capital](/fund/sequoia)**, **[Insight Partners](/fund/insight-partners)**, Evantic Capital, Sound Ventures, NEA, Mantis VC, and Clearlake. A **lead was not named**. Total funding is **over $400 million**. ARR was **not disclosed** ([company](https://factory.com/news/5-billion-valuation), [Reuters](https://www.reuters.com/business/ai-coding-agent-startup-factory-triples-valuation-5-billion-latest-funding-round-2026-09-15/)).

Five months after a $1.5B print, the same franchise re-priced at $5B on named enterprise logos and “software factory” positioning — without printing revenue.

For a cross-company view of AI coding-agent funding and the financing instruments behind announced rounds, see VCT’s [AI startup funding news tracker](/ai-startup-funding-news).

## Key facts

| Field | Detail |
| --- | --- |
| Company | [Factory](/startup/factory) ([factory.com](https://factory.com)) — enterprise AI agents / software factories |
| Financing | **$200M** at **$5B** valuation (unnamed stage) |
| Date | September 15, 2026 |
| Prior | **$150M** at **$1.5B** (April 2026) |
| Total funding | **>$400M** (company) |
| Lead | **Not named** |
| Named customers (company) | Nvidia, Blackstone, RBC, Palo Alto Networks, Adobe, T-Mobile |
| ARR / seats | **Not disclosed** (company says “hundreds of thousands of developers”) |

## Who uses the product — and for what job

**Users:** enterprise engineering orgs that need governed, measurable agentic coding — not a consumer chatbot IDE.

**Job:** run a single controlled “software factory” across the SDLC (cloud, on-prem, or air-gapped) instead of stitching standalone coding agents. Company product claims around the raise: **Factory Router** (task-level model routing; **>60%** token-spend cut claim), air-gapped / high-security deployment, and **Agent Effectiveness** visibility into AI spend ROI.

Named logos (Nvidia, Blackstone, RBC, Palo Alto Networks, Adobe, T-Mobile) are **customer claims**, not audited seat or ARR evidence. Treat “hundreds of thousands of developers” as a usage claim until economics print.

## Why now

- The **3.3×** mark move in **five months** is the anomaly — capital is racing to own the **enterprise control plane** for coding agents, not the next chat wrapper.
- Security and deployment surface (air-gap, regulated customers) is the wedge vs consumer coding tools that cannot sit inside bank/gov constraints.
- [Cognition](/startup/cognition)’s September **$48B** Series E tape ([our note](/2026-cognition-2b-series-e-48b-a16z-accel)) keeps the category hot; Factory is pricing as **ops infrastructure**, not a single-agent brand.

## Why these funds — portfolio fit

No lead was disclosed, so fit is about **who showed up again**, not a single thesis memo.

- **[Khosla Ventures](/fund/khosla-ventures)** led or anchored the April round (secondary reporting) and returns here — consistent with high-conviction AI infrastructure bets that reprice fast when enterprise logos land.
- **[Sequoia](/fund/sequoia)** and **[Insight Partners](/fund/insight-partners)** fit **enterprise scale** and go-to-market expansion; Insight’s growth DNA matches a “global GTM” use of proceeds.
- **Blackstone** as both **customer and capital** is the tell: the buyer of the product is also underwriting the mark — unusual signal, still not a substitute for ARR.

Do **not** invent a Series letter or revenue multiple. Do **not** link Lightspeed NYC, NEA, Evantic, Sound Ventures, Mantis, or Clearlake as `/fund/` pages — they are not in our directory.

## Competitive map

| Approach | Tradeoff |
| --- | --- |
| Consumer coding copilots | Fast individual speed; weak enterprise governance |
| Point agent tools | Strong demos; fragmented SDLC control |
| In-house agent stacks | Full control; slow to productize |
| Factory “software factory” | Named enterprise logos; **no ARR** in the raise |

## What is not proven

- ARR, NRR, seat price, or gross margin.
- Which investor led / priced the round.
- Whether “hundreds of thousands of developers” means MAU, seats, or cumulative signups.
- Profitability — not disclosed.

## Practical takeaway

- **Founders (dev tools):** Sell **governed deployment + measurable ROI**, then raise on logos — Factory still did not print ARR at $5B.
- **Investors:** Diligence token economics and air-gap attach; do not treat a 3× mark as proof of 3× revenue.
- **Operators:** Relevant if you need one controlled agent platform across regulated SDLC environments.

### Sources

1. [Factory — $200M at $5B](https://factory.com/news/5-billion-valuation)
2. [Reuters](https://www.reuters.com/business/ai-coding-agent-startup-factory-triples-valuation-5-billion-latest-funding-round-2026-09-15/)

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)
**Last updated:** September 16, 2026

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
