---
title: "Bain Capital Ventures Closes $1.6B Fund XI — Not Bain Capital’s $225B AUM"
description: "Bain Capital Ventures said on September 16, 2026 that Fund XI is $1.6 billion of total capital for early- and growth-stage technology. Bloomberg put the predecessor at $1.4 billion. Bain Capital’s about $225 billion AUM is the parent platform, not this vehicle."
date: 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-bain-capital-ventures-1-6b-fund-xi
---

# Bain Capital Ventures Closes $1.6B Fund XI — Not Bain Capital’s $225B AUM

> Bain Capital Ventures said on September 16, 2026 that Fund XI is $1.6 billion of total capital for early- and growth-stage technology. Bloomberg put the predecessor at $1.4 billion. Bain Capital’s about $225 billion AUM is the parent platform, not this vehicle.

**[Bain Capital Ventures](/fund/bain-capital-ventures)** said on **September 16, 2026** that it has raised **$1.6 billion of total capital for Fund XI**, to make **early- and growth-stage** investments in technology companies. The number that will get copied wrong is **about $225 billion** — that is **Bain Capital parent AUM**, not this vehicle. Bloomberg put the predecessor at **$1.4 billion** and said Fund XI is slightly larger; BCV’s own post did **not** name the prior size. LP names were **not** disclosed. Last verified **September 17, 2026**. Sources: [BCV](https://baincapitalventures.com/insight/capital-s-duty-to-the-future/), [Bloomberg](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-09-16/bain-capital-ventures-raises-1-6-billion-for-life-after-agi).

A $1.6 billion multi-stage venture close is real dry powder. It is not a $225 billion “Bain” headline and it is not [a16z Growth’s $8.5 billion](/2026-a16z-8-5b-growth-fund) scaling book.

## Five-minute decision

| If you need… | Verdict |
| --- | --- |
| What happened | **Fund closed.** Fund XI **$1.6B** total capital. Sep 16, 2026. |
| Mandate | Early- and growth-stage “outlier technology businesses” (BCV). Bloomberg: infrastructure, physical world, security, services. |
| $225B | **Parent AUM** (BCV). Not Fund XI. |
| Prior fund | **$1.4B** is **Bloomberg**, not the BCV post. |
| LPs / first vs final | **Not disclosed.** |
| Directory | [Yes — /fund/bain-capital-ventures](/fund/bain-capital-ventures). |

**Investigate further when:** you want a Bain-platform multi-stage check next to names we already cover (Redis lineage, Etched, Rillet).

**Wait or pass when:** you add Fund XI to Bain Capital PE AUM, or treat **$1.6B** as a first close of a larger target the firm did not state.

## What closed

| Field | Detail |
| --- | --- |
| Firm | [Bain Capital Ventures](/fund/bain-capital-ventures) — NYC, 590 Madison. Site: [baincapitalventures.com](https://baincapitalventures.com). |
| Vehicle | Fund XI · **$1.6B** total capital · Sep 16, 2026 |
| Parent | Bain Capital **~$225B AUM** (BCV post). Firm origin story: **$37M** in **1984**. |
| Predecessor | **$1.4B** (Bloomberg). Not restated by BCV. |
| Thesis language | Post-AGI / “duty to the future” essay. Deployment still early + growth tech. |
| LPs | **None named.** No Form D cited here. |

Bloomberg’s sector list — infrastructure, physical world, security, services, including customer-support or IT work — is **reporter paraphrase** of where the firm will look. It is not a published exclusion list.

## BCV $1.6B vs Swish $250M vs a16z Growth $8.5B

| | BCV XI | [Swish III](/2026-swish-ventures-250m-fund-iii) | [a16z Growth](/2026-a16z-8-5b-growth-fund) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Date | Sep 16, 2026 | Sep 3, 2026 | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Amount | **$1.6B** new vehicle | **$250M** new vehicle | **$8.5B** existing Growth **total** |
| Job | Multi-stage venture | Concentrated Seed / A | Scale already-winning companies |
| Directory | [Yes](/fund/bain-capital-ventures) | **No** | [Yes](/fund/andreessen-horowitz) |

Do **not** add them. They answer different founder questions. [Cherubic VI](/2026-cherubic-ventures-68-88m-fund-vi) is a **$68.88 million** solo-GP book — smaller still.

Named BCV overlap already on this site includes [Etched](/2026-etched-700m-21b-jane-street) and [Rillet](/2026-rillet-100m-series-c-1b-iconiq). This close is **not** a new round for those companies.

## What remains undisclosed

No LP letter. No first-versus-final split. No check-size grid. No BCV-only AUM besides this $1.6 billion print. Predecessor **$1.4 billion** is Bloomberg. “Post-AGI” is editorial framing in the essay, not a portfolio rule you can diligence from the post.

Related: [BCV fund page](/fund/bain-capital-ventures) · [September 16–17 index](/2026-september-16-17-investment-news-impulse-bcv-portage) · [a16z Growth $8.5B](/2026-a16z-8-5b-growth-fund).

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)
**Last updated:** September 17, 2026

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
