---
title: "Antioch’s $32M Series A: Greylock Bets on Sim, Not a Billion-Dollar Data Collect"
description: "Greylock led a $32 million Series A for New York physical-AI simulator Antioch on September 8, 2026. Amazon’s Ring is named in the release. Valuation, ARR, and a company total that reconciles seed plus pre-seed were not disclosed."
date: 2026-09-08T00:00:00.000Z
tags: ["2026-vc-news", "startup-funding", "venture-capital", "robotics", "physical-ai"]
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-antioch-32m-series-a-greylock-physical-ai
---

# Antioch’s $32M Series A: Greylock Bets on Sim, Not a Billion-Dollar Data Collect

> Greylock led a $32 million Series A for New York physical-AI simulator Antioch on September 8, 2026. Amazon’s Ring is named in the release. Valuation, ARR, and a company total that reconciles seed plus pre-seed were not disclosed.

**Antioch** closed a **$32 million** Series A on **September 8, 2026**. **[Greylock](/fund/greylock-partners)** led. [Saam Motamedi’s Greylock post](https://greylock.com/blog/introducing-antioch-the-simulation-platform-for-physical-ai/) and the [company release](https://www.newswire.com/news/antioch-raises-32m-to-bring-software-speed-to-physical-ai-development) agree on the lead and the amount. Valuation was **not disclosed**. Last verified **September 9, 2026**.

The product bet is that **hardware-calibrated cloud simulation** can replace some physical test hours. [Forbes](https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnkoetsier/2026/09/08/heres-a-32-million-bet-that-robots-dont-need-a-billion-dollars-of-real-world-data/) framed that against Figure’s real-world data spend. Figure’s budget is not Antioch’s metric. Antioch did not publish ARR.

## Five-minute decision

| If you need… | Verdict |
| --- | --- |
| What happened | **Funded.** $32M Series A, Sep 8. Greylock **led**. |
| Who uses it | **Named:** Amazon’s Ring (release). Held-out-test quote from Ring CPO Jason Mitura. |
| Valuation / ARR | **Not disclosed.** |
| Prior capital | Seed **$8.5M** (Robotics 24/7). Pre-seed **~$4.24M** (Robot Report). Do **not** sum as a company total. |
| Whether to diligence | **Yes**, if you underwrite sim-to-real for robotics. **No**, if you need a mark or a revenue print. |

**Investigate further when:** a named production customer plus a Greylock lead is enough to start a sim-to-real file.

**Wait or pass when:** you need paying-customer count, retention, or a post-money.

## What closed

| Field | Detail |
| --- | --- |
| Company | [Antioch](/startup/antioch); New York; founded **2025** (Robot Report / Nebius) |
| Round | **$32M Series A** · **Sep 8, 2026** |
| Lead | [Greylock](/fund/greylock-partners) (Saam Motamedi) |
| Participants | A*; Category Ventures; [BoxGroup](/fund/box-group); Icehouse Ventures |
| Angels named | Shyam Sankar; Adrian Macneil; Ian Andrews (NVIDIA; former Groq) |
| Founders (Greylock) | Harry Mellsop, Alex Langshur, Michael Calvey (Transpose → Chainalysis); Collin Schlager (Meta Reality Labs). Mellsop: Tesla computer vision |
| Use of proceeds | Product, engineering hiring, deeper sim (company) |

No `/fund/` pages for A*, Category Ventures, or Icehouse.

## Sim vs real-world data

This site already covers **collection** ([XDOF](/startup/xdof) in **$1.2 billion Series B talks**; [Human Archive](/2026-human-archive-8m-physical-ai-data-india)) and **holding-company physical AI** ([Atoms](/2026-atoms-1-7b-a16z-physical-ai)). Antioch sells **simulation**. NVIDIA Isaac Sim / Isaac Lab integration is a **company partnership claim**, not an acquisition.

The **$50 trillion** “physical economy” line in the release is a TAM slogan. Ignore it for underwriting.

## What remains undisclosed

Paying customers besides Ring. Contract size. ARR. Valuation. A company-stated lifetime total that includes seed and pre-seed without double-counting A*’s two appearances.

Related: [Antioch profile](/startup/antioch) · [Greylock](/fund/greylock-partners) · [XDOF talks](/2026-xdof-1-2b-series-b-talks-8vc) · [Lyte silicon](/2026-lyte-165m-series-c-1-6b-physical-ai) · [September 9 index](/2026-september-9-investment-news-antioch-truebridge-yc).

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)
**Last updated:** September 9, 2026

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
