---
title: "a16z Growth Fund Hits $8.5B: $1.75B Top-Up, Not a New Vehicle"
description: "On August 31, 2026 Andreessen Horowitz said its fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion — $1.75 billion more than the $6.75 billion January launch. That is a top-up of an existing growth vehicle, three days after the $1.1 billion Machine Age Fund. LP names were not disclosed."
date: 2026-09-01T00:00:00.000Z
tags: ["2026-vc-news", "venture-capital", "fund-tracker", "a16z", "market-analysis"]
source: https://venturecapitaltracker.com/2026-a16z-8-5b-growth-fund
---

# a16z Growth Fund Hits $8.5B: $1.75B Top-Up, Not a New Vehicle

> On August 31, 2026 Andreessen Horowitz said its fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion — $1.75 billion more than the $6.75 billion January launch. That is a top-up of an existing growth vehicle, three days after the $1.1 billion Machine Age Fund. LP names were not disclosed.

**[Andreessen Horowitz](/fund/andreessen-horowitz) said its fifth Growth fund now totals $8.5 billion** on **August 31, 2026** — but that is **not** a new $8.5 billion vehicle. [TechCrunch](https://techcrunch.com/2026/08/31/a16z-brings-growth-fund-to-8-5b-days-after-launching-new-1-1b-fund/) reports the fund launched in **January at $6.75 billion**; the August post adds **$1.75 billion** to that book. Three days earlier a16z posted a separate **$1.1 billion** [Machine Age Fund](/2026-a16z-1-1b-machine-age-fund) for hardware. Last verified **September 1, 2026**. Facts below are the [a16z Growth post](https://a16z.com/expanding-the-a16z-growth-fund-and-platform/) unless labeled TechCrunch.

## Five-minute decision

| If you need… | Verdict |
| --- | --- |
| What happened | **Top-up.** Fifth Growth fund to **$8.5B**. Incremental cash: **$1.75B** vs January. |
| What it buys | Growth-stage scaling: multi-product, multi-geo, GTM/pricing help. **Not** chips. |
| Hardware vs growth | Hardware is [Machine Age $1.1B](/2026-a16z-1-1b-machine-age-fund) (Aug 28). |
| LPs / close split | **Not disclosed.** |

**Investigate further when:** you are already at the Databricks/SpaceX “bank the corner” stage a16z is describing.

**Wait or pass when:** you need a seed check, LP names, or a first-check size.

## What happened

| Field | Detail |
| --- | --- |
| Firm | [Andreessen Horowitz](/fund/andreessen-horowitz) |
| Vehicle | Fifth Growth fund |
| New total | **$8.5B** · Aug 31, 2026 (a16z) |
| Prior mark | **$6.75B** January launch (TechCrunch) |
| Incremental | **$1.75B** |
| Authors | David George, Raghu Raghuram |
| LP names / first-vs-final | **Not disclosed** |
| Named scaling examples | [Databricks](/startup/databricks), [SpaceX](/startup/spacex) |

a16z’s post lists six concurrent S-curves (enterprise AI, consumer AI, American Dynamism, robotics, healthcare, the compute stack) and says Growth has helped **more than 100 companies** over **7+ years**. That is firm marketing, not a deployment schedule.

## Growth $8.5B vs Machine Age $1.1B vs Accel $3.5B

| | a16z Growth | [a16z Machine Age](/2026-a16z-1-1b-machine-age-fund) | [Accel $3.5B](/2026-accel-3-5b-early-stage-funds) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Date | Aug 31, 2026 | Aug 28, 2026 | Aug 11, 2026 |
| Amount | **$8.5B total** ($1.75B add-on) | **$1.1B** new vehicle | **$3.5B** four early-stage vehicles |
| Job | Scale existing winners | Physical AI hardware | First checks + follow-on |
| Directory | [Yes](/fund/andreessen-horowitz) | Same firm page | No Accel `/fund/` page |

Do **not** add $8.5B and $1.1B into one “a16z August raise.” They are different products. Do **not** treat $8.5B as cash a16z collected last week.

## Worked numbers (indicative)

1. **Setup:** a company raising a **$200 million** Series D.
2. **Move:** $8.5B can write that check and still reserve follow-on.
3. **Punch:** one **$200M** lead is about **2.4%** of the fund — **illustrative**, not a16z’s check-size policy. The post does not publish a typical check. The **new** $1.75B alone could write about **eight** such checks if it were all primary and undiluted — also illustrative.

## What remains undisclosed

LP names, first-versus-final close, deployment pace, and typical check size are all **missing** from the August 31 post — the open diligence question is who supplied the **$1.75 billion** add-on and how fast it deploys. Do not call this a **new** $8.5B fund, merge it with [Machine Age](/2026-a16z-1-1b-machine-age-fund), or invent LP names. The directory still lists a16z AUM as **$35B+**; TechCrunch cites **$90B** as of the January 2026 platform raise.

Related: [Andreessen Horowitz](/fund/andreessen-horowitz) · [Databricks $190B](/2026-databricks-5b-190b-coatue) · [September 1 tape](/2026-september-1-investment-news-a16z-growth-india-space).

**By:** [Venture Capital Tracker](https://venturecapitaltracker.com/editorial-policy)
**Last updated:** September 1, 2026

**Editorial note:** AI tools assisted with research, structure, or drafting. Venture Capital Tracker retains human editorial responsibility for factual accuracy, relevance, and source quality before publication.
